Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Revolver

Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick

Roaring Brook Press

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

A LOADED GUN. STOLEN GOLD. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.

In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig's father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig's only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin's storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why?

Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year. This title has Common Core connections.

American Library Association Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adults, Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year, American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults, YALSA Best Book for Young Adults, American Library Association Quick Picks for Young Adults, CPL: Chicago Public Library Best of the Best, Michael L. Printz Award - Honor, ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Texas TAYSHAS High School Reading List, ALA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adults, Indiana Read Alouds Too Good to Miss Master List

EXCERPT

1
Wash Day, dusk
Even the dead tell stories.
Sig looked across the cabin to where his father lay, waiting for him to speak, but his father said nothing, because he was dead. Einar Andersson lay on the table, his arms half raised above his...

Reviews

Praise for Revolver

“A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, STARRED

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, STARRED

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED

“* The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, STARRED

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.” —Booklist

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Marcus Sedgwick

MARCUS SEDGWICK is the author of ten previous novels for young readers and has been short-listed for numerous children's book awards, including the Carnegie Medal, The Guardian Prize, and the Edgar Allan Poe Award. He lives in Sussex, England.

Marcus Sedgwick

©Kate Christer

From the Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER