Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Piper Reed, Forever Friend

Piper Reed, Forever Friend

Piper Reed (Volume 6)

Kimberly Willis Holt; illustrations by Christine Davenier

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Piper is excited to move to a new state and catch up with old friends. But the move doesn't go as smoothly as she expected: Piper has trouble feeling accepted in her new surroundings. But then she meets Arizona Smiley. Arizona is an avid stamp collector and bowls in a league. Piper is intrigued by Arizona's originality and before long, she wins Arizona's affections, and the two become great friends. This move turns out to be the best one yet, and Piper is eager to spread her trademark "Get Off the Bus" catchphrase once again.

EXCERPT

1
A Fish Tale


In December, Chief got his new orders from the U.S. Navy. We were moving to Norfolk, Virginia. I'd be saying good-bye to the Gypsy Club that I started here, but since Michael and his twin sister, Nicole,...

Reviews

Praise for Piper Reed, Forever Friend

“Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner . . . Holt relays quotidian events with humor and insight.” —Publishers Weekly on Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“Launching a new series, Piper's foray sets sail with verve, fun, and spunk.” —Kirkus Reviews on Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“This appealing Navy family is loving without being cloying, strong without being perfect, and optimistic without seeming unbelievable. We salute you, Piper! On to the next adventure!” —The Horn Book on Piper Reed, the Great Gypsy

“Piper Reed is back and is as charming as ever. . . . A natural for fans of Clementine or Judy Moody, as well as readers ready to step beyond Junie B. Jones.” —School Library Journal on Piper Reed Gets a Job

“Holt infuses the American pioneer landscape with a hint of magical realism in this intimate and epic coming-of-age tale. . . . Drawing on such diverse themes as Manifest Destiny, personal identity and cross-cultural relationships, the author has crafted a satisfying all-ages story that hosts a dazzling array of richly realized secondary characters . . . and flows as effortlessly as the Platte River.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review on The Water Seeker

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Kimberly Willis Holt; illustrations by Christine Davenier

Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the other books in the Piper Reed series and has written many acclaimed novels, including The Water Seeker. She lives in West Texas.
Christine Davenier has illustrated many books for young readers, as well as the books in the Piper Reed series. She lives in Paris, France.

Kimberly Willis Holt

Shannon Holt

Christine Davenier

Louis Bourjac

Louisiana Public Broadcasting Station Interview

From the Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER