Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Piper Reed, Party Planner

Piper Reed, Party Planner

Piper Reed (Volume 3)

Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Previously published as Piper Reed Gets a Job.

Piper Reed and her fellow Gypsy Club members are in need of a clubhouse. Raising money to buy one proves a challenge. Piper, being the resourceful fifth grader that she is, launches her own party-planning business and gets her first job throwing young Brady's birthday celebration. But things don't go as expected on the day of the big event. Fortunately for Piper, her friends and family come to her rescue!

EXCERPT

Piper Reed, Party Planner

1
FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL
Beep, beep. Six thirty. I turned off the alarm, threw off my covers, and popped out of bed. My insides did flip-flops. There was something exciting about...

Reviews

Praise for Piper Reed, Party Planner

“This book is a good addition to the series and is also a natural for fans of Clementine or Judy Moody, as well as readers ready to step beyond Junie B. Jones.” —School Library Journal

“Here, as in the other chapter books in the Piper Reed series, Holt balances serious moments with wit and creates a convincingly childlike sensibility throughout most of the episodic story. Appearing on most double-page spreads, Davenier's lively drawings help bring the characters to life.” —Booklist

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Kimberly Willis Holt; Illustrated by Christine Davenier

Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including Piper Reed, Navy Brat, Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen, and Piper Reed, Rodeo Star. She has written many award-winning novels, including The Water Seeker and My Louisiana Sky, as well as the picture books Waiting for Gregory and Skinny Brown Dog. A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world—from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, When Zachary Beaver Came to Town, won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family.

Christine Davenier has illustrated numerous children's books, and won a New York Times Best Illustrated Award for The First Thing My Mama Told Me. She lives in Paris, France.

Kimberly Willis Holt

Shannon Holt

Christine Davenier

Louis Bourjac

Louisiana Public Broadcasting Station Interview

From the Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER