Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody

Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody

Ian Frazier

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody is a collection of five extended essays that appeared in The New Yorker from 1978 to 1986. In the tradition of A. J. Liebling and Joseph Mitchell, Frazier raises journalism to high literary art. His vivid stories showcase a strange and wonderful parade of American life, from portraits of Heloise, the syndicated household-hints columnist, and Jim Deren, the urban fly-fisher's guru, to small-town residents in western Kansas preparing to celebrate a historic, mutual massacre, to which they invite the Cheyenne Indians' descendants with the promise of free bowling.

EXCERPT

NOBODY BETTER, BETTER THAN NOBODY

Authentic Accounts of Massacres
The town of Oberlin, Kansas, is in the northwest corner of the state, eighty-three miles east of the Kansas-Colorado state line and a hundred...

Reviews

Praise for Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody

“Subtle...The unwary reader never knows what Frazier is up to until he's hooked.” —The Boston Globe

“Wickedly funny...[A] rare combination of humor and empathy...More eloquent in their directness than poetry.” —The New York Times

“Five extraordinary tales profiling people and events in the coolest, clearest, most wittily perceptive prose you'll find anywhere these days.” —Forbes

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Ian Frazier

Ian Frazier is the author of Great Plains, On the Rez, Family, Coyote v. Acme, and most recently The Fish's Eye. A frequent contributor to The New Yorker, he lives in Montclair, New Jersey.

Ian Frazier

Sigrid Estrada

From the Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER