Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Red Mesa

Red Mesa

An Ella Clah Novel

Ella Clah (Volume 6)

Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo

Forge Books

BUY THE BOOK

Navajo Police Special Investigator Ella Clah is on the run. Justine, Ella's cousin and fellow officer, disappeared after the two women argued publicly over Justine's new boyfriend. Human bones are discovered at the spot where the younger woman had told her family she and Ella were to meet late one night. Suddenly Ella Clah, cop, is Ella Clah, murder suspect.
Stunned by Justine's death, Ella has no time to mourn. Her former allies in the Navajo Police Department and the FBI are hot on her trail, using techniques she taught them to hunt her down. Ella has to find the real killers--and fast--before the Dineh act on a growing belief that Ella's mother, brother, and young daughter have become evil.



At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

ONE


It was already dark before Special Investigator Ella Clah, head of the major crimes unit for the Navajo Tribal Police, was able to call it a day. As she stepped out the main entrance of the Shiprock station, the cool September...

Praise for Red Mesa

“Mystery readers who like their murders solved by applied intelligence will love Ella Clah.” —Tony Hillerman

Red Mesa is an engrossing mystery as intricately woven as a fine Navajo rug. It kept me guessing to the end.” —Margaret Coel, New York Times bestselling author

“Fans of Tony Hillerman and Jean Hager should appreciate the way the Thurlos mix Native American lore with modern situations and forensics technique. Even readers unfamiliar with the Native American subgenre will be intrigued by the richly complex Ella and her fight to bring integrity to her work and personal life.” —Booklist (starred review)

Reviews from Goodreads

Aimée Thurlo and David Thurlo

Aimée and David Thurlo have won the RT Book Reviews Career Achievement Award for their romantic suspense, the Willa Cather Award for Contemporary Fiction, and the New Mexico Book Award. They are coauthors of the Special Investigator Ella Clah series, the Lee Nez series of Navajo vampire thrillers, and the southwestern Sister Agatha cozy mysteries. Aimée, a native of Cuba, lived in the US for many years. She died in 2014. David was raised on the Navajo Reservation and taught school there until his retirement. He lives in Corrales, New Mexico, and often makes appearances at area bookstores.

LibraryThing

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER