Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Enduring Flame Trilogy

The Enduring Flame Trilogy

The Phoenix Unchained, The Phoenix Endangered, The Phoenix Transformed

The Enduring Flame

Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

Tor Books


e-Book Bundle

In The Enduring Flame Trilogy, Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory have given readers a new view of the complex and fascinating world they originally created for The Obsidian Trilogy.

Jumping one thousand years in time, Lackey and Mallory tell the compelling story of Harrier Gillain, the first Knight-Mage in a thousand years; Tiercel Rolfort, the first High Mage in hundreds of years; and Shaiara, the young leader of a desert tribe who takes both boys under her wing but finds that she has a special affection for Harrier. These three young people are their world's main defense against the evil called up by the rogue Wild Mage, Bisochim.

Included in The Enduring Flame Trilogy are The Phoenix Unchained, The Phoenix Endangered, and The Phoenix Transformed.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Praise for The Enduring Flame Trilogy

“Highly readable. High fantasy fans should appreciate the intelligent storytelling with an unmistakable flavor of Andre Norton at her best.” —Publishers Weekly on When Darkness Falls

“Once Kellen realizes there is a world full of wonders, diversity, and people who think and live differently, he cannot return to the oppressive sameness of City life...The Wild Magic has another agenda for him, however, involving an acerbic unicorn and a woman-heavens!-to learn the Wild...Magic from. Delightful.” —Booklist on The Outstretched Shadow

“Shaiara is a plucky and resourceful character, rising above the tropes common to multicultural fantasy. Readers can rest assured that Lackey and Mallory will not let them down.” — on The Phoenix Endangered

“Entertaining. . . .Highly readable.” —Publishers Weekly on The Phoenix Unchained

“As entertaining as the first trilogy. Tiercel and Harrier are great foils for each other, and their friendship rings true. A thoughtfully created world, engaging characters, and a tighter plot than many fantasy epics make this a must-have.” —VOYA on The Phoenix Unchained


Reviews from Goodreads

Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

MERCEDES LACKEY is a multiple New York Times bestselling author for her Valdemar novels. JAMES MALLORY and Lackey have collaborated on several novels, including the USA Today bestseller, To Light a Candle, and the New York Times bestsellers When Darkness Falls and The Phoenix Transformed. Lackey lives in Claremore, Oklahoma. Mallory lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

image of Mercedes Lackeyo
Glamour Shots

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook