Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Romancing the Dark in the City of Light

Romancing the Dark in the City of Light

A Novel

Ann Jacobus

Thomas Dunne Books

BUY THE BOOK

Haunting and beautifully written, with a sharp and distinctive voice that could belong only to this character, Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is an unforgettable young adult novel.

Summer Barnes just moved to Paris to repeat her senior year of high school. After being kicked out of four boarding schools, she has to get on the right track or she risks losing her hefty inheritance. Summer is convinced that meeting the right guy will solve everything. She meets two. Moony, a classmate, is recovering against all odds from a serious car accident, and he encourages Summer to embrace life despite how hard it can be to make it through even one day. But when Summer meets Kurt, a hot, mysterious older man who she just can't shake, he leads her through the creepy underbelly of the city-and way out of her depth.

When Summer's behavior manage to alienate everyone, even Moony, she's forced to decide if a life so difficult is worth living. With an ending that'll surprise even the most seasoned reader, Ann Jacobus' Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is an unputdownable and utterly compelling novel.

ONE



Paris Métro
Charles de Gaulle-Étoile


The train rounds the turn in the tunnel and the interior lights flicker off. Summer Barnes, pressed by the crowd against the doors in the second car, regards the brightness...

Praise for Romancing the Dark in the City of Light

“A vivid portrayal of a girl in love with love and death. The story flows...with all the gritty glamour of a black and white French film.” —Richard Peck, Newbery Medal winner and National Book Award Finalist

“Seductive, unexpected, and emotionally complex, Summer's story will take you from the darkest corners of Paris to the haunted depths of the human heart. A perfect pick for fans of We Were Liars or I'll Give You The Sun.” —Catherine Linka, author of A Girl Called Fearless

“As I read this book, I immediately thought of Anna and the French Kiss. An amazing novel of despair, destruction and rebirth.” —Melissa Buron, author and librarian

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Ann Jacobus

ANN JACOBUS graduated from Dartmouth College, and earned her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She's published short fiction, essays and poetry and blogs regularly about writing and YA. Jacobus lives in San Francisco and Chappaquiddick with her family. Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is her first novel.

image of Ann Jacobuso
Marc Olivier Leblanc

Thomas Dunne Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER