Book details

In Bitter Chill

A Mystery

Inspector Francis Sadler (Volume 1)

Author: Sarah Ward

In Bitter Chill

In Bitter Chill

$11.99

e-Book

About This Book

A story of loss, family secrets, and how the darkest truths are often hidden nearest to you, this page-turning debut is perfect for fans of Sharon Bolton and Deborah Crombie

Page Count
320
Genre
On Sale
09/29/2015

Book Details

The deepest secrets are the ones we keep from ourselves in this richly atmospheric, compellingly written, and expertly constructed crime debut from an emerging talent.

Derbyshire, 1978: a small town in the idyllic English countryside is traumatized by the kidnapping of two young schoolgirls, Rachel Jones and Sophie Jenkins. Within hours, Rachel is found wandering alone near the roadside, unharmed yet unable to remember anything, except that her abductor was a woman. No trace of Sophie is ever discovered.

Present day: over thirty years later, Sophie's mother commits suicide. Detective inspector Francis Sadler and detective constable Connie Childs are assigned to look at the kidnapping again to see if modern police methods can discover something that the original team missed. Rachel, with the help of her formidable mother and grandmother, recovered from the kidnapping and has become a family genealogist. She wants nothing more than to continue living quietly beneath the radar, but the discovery of the strangled body of one of her former teachers days after the suicide brings the national media back to her doorstep. Desperate to stop a modern killer from striking again, Rachel and the police must unpick the clues to uncover what really happened all those years ago as the past threatens to engulf the present.

Imprint Publisher

Minotaur Books

ISBN

9781466878082

About the Creators

In Bitter Chill

In Bitter Chill

$11.99

e-Book