Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Walleye Junction

Walleye Junction

A Mystery

Macy Greeley Mysteries (Volume 3)

Karin Salvalaggio

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

When outspoken radio talk show host Philip Long is kidnapped and murdered, Detective Macy Greeley leaves her young son in the care of her mother and heads up to remote Walleye Junction, Montana to take charge of the investigation. It is initially believed that Long’s murder is the result of a controversial radio show he’s done on the rise of far right militias in the state. Within days the two kidnappers are found dead following a massive heroin overdose, and the authorities are hopeful the investigation is finished. But there are too many discrepancies for Macy to settle for obvious answers. The kidnapper’s bodies have been moved, their son is on the run and a series of anonymous emails point investigators toward the murky world of prescription painkiller abuse. Macy soon finds herself immersed in small town intrigues as she races to find who’s really responsible for Philip Long’s murder.

Meanwhile, Philip Long’s daughter Emma is dealing with her own problems. It’s been twelve years since she left Walleye Junction after her best friend died from a drug overdose. Emma finds that little in Walleye Junction has changed in her absence. She is also becoming increasingly uneasy as the familiar surroundings stir up memories that are best forgotten.

With Walleye Junction, a taut, propulsive mystery, Karin Salvalaggio will once again grip readers from the opening page to the stunning conclusion.

EXCERPT

1



The voice coming in over the police radio sounded skeptical.

“Philip Long isn’t here. He must have been moved to another location.”

Detective Macy Greeley held the steering wheel in one hand and the radio with the...

Reviews

Praise for Walleye Junction

“Riveting…[Salvalaggio] illuminates her dark story with deeply realized characters as well as richly descriptive prose…A stunning debut.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Salvalaggio is a stunning new voice in crime fiction, and her heroine Detective Macy Greeley is the kind of tough and complex character that I can't wait to see more of.” —Deborah Crombie

“This complicated, peel-away-layers debut procedural intoxicates from the opening page and has word-of-mouth selling power... Recommend for fans of Archer Mayor, Gwen Florio, and Craig Johnson. C.J. Box's The Highway comes to mind, too.” —Library Journal (starred review, Debut of the Month)

“Salvalaggio's characters and the landscape of their lives are astutely drawn.” —Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

“Salvalaggio's debut deftly intertwines a town without a future and citizens without hope, people in need and people who need to be needed, and a new murder that brings closure to four unsolved cases.” —Kirkus Reviews

“As jarring as a headfirst plunge in an icy river, Bone Dust White is a stark and unforgettable reading experience; its ambience, like the bruised people whose twisted lives it traces, is chilly–and irresistible.” —Julia Keller, Pulitzer Prize-winner and author of Bitter River

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Karin Salvalaggio

KARIN SALVALAGGIO received an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck at the University of London. Born in West Virginia and raised in an Air Force family, she grew up on a number of military bases around the United States. She now lives in London with her two children. Walleye Junction is her second novel.

Karin Salvalaggio

Mat Smith Photography

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER