Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
A Week in Winter

A Week in Winter

A Novel

Marica Willett; Read by Joesphine Bailey

Macmillan Audio

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Digital Audio

$12.99

Macmillan Audio

Macmillan Audio

03/01/2003

ISBN: 9781593971663

6:34:0

Apple iTunes
Audible

From the opening of A Week in Winter, the listeners are enveloped in a warm and welcoming world teeming with unforgettable characters and enchanting places. Moorgate stands on the edge of the moor in beautiful Cornwall. A charming old farmhouse filled with light and memories, Moorgate captures the heart of all who experience it. But when Maudie Todhunter, the 70-year-old owner of the beloved house decides to sell, fate is set in motion, bringing old secrets to light and causing a saga to unfold.

Vivid, vibrant, and entirely mesmerizing, this remarkable novel provides the kind of experience that will have listeners eagerly looking forward to more from this newly discovered and superbly talented author

EXCERPT

Chapter One

Maudie Todhunter poured herself some coffee, sliced the top neatly from her egg, and settled herself to look at her letters. A rather promising selection lay aside her plate this morning: a satisfyingly bulky package from the Scotch...

Reviews

Praise for A Week in Winter

“Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy will definitely applaud the introduction of such an enjoyable writer.” —Booklist

“A charming story. . . highly recommended for public libraries everywhere.” —Library Journal

A Week in Winter has all the elements of a perfect summer book. . . it's thoroughly engrossing, with richly drawn characters, a mysterious locale, and a beautifully crafted plot. . . the perfect addition to your summer beach tote.” —The Sun-Sentinel (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)

“Captivating. . . . Set in a wild Cornish landscape that will evoke for readers Rosamunde Pilcher's The Shell Seekers, Willett is a true discovery.” —Michelle Slung, Victoria Magazine

“Like Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy, Willett creates such fully dimensional characters that readers feel as if they should phone or e-mail them to keep in touch.” —Rocky Mountain News (Denver, CO)

“It is a wonderful moving story of family and values set in the English countryside. It is very reminiscent of the novels of Pilcher and Binchy. I am so glad Ms. Willett is following in their footsteps!” —Marilyn Sieb, Books & Company

About the author

Marica Willett; Read by Joesphine Bailey

Marcia Willett was born in a small village in Somersetshire, England. Her early passion was ballet, and she eventually joined a royal ballet school as a ballet mistress. She began writing with the encouragement of her husband. This is her first novel to be published in the U.S.

Josephine Bailey's narration work has won AudioFile Earphones Awards and a prestigious Audie Award. In 2002, Publishers Weekly recognized her as Best Female Narrator. She has narrated works by Libba Bray, Marcia Willet, Charlotte Bronte, and Ken Follett. Bailey has also acted in television, film, and theater.

Marcia Willett

Josephine Bailey

From the Publisher

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER