Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Pete Milano's Guide to Being a Movie Star

Pete Milano's Guide to Being a Movie Star

A Charlie Joe Jackson Book

Charlie Joe Jackson Series

Tommy Greenwald; illustrations by Rebecca Roher

Roaring Brook Press

BUY THE BOOK

Pete Milano has always been the class clown and proud of it. What's the point of having friends if you can't make them laugh, right? Even if doing so does have the unfortunate side effect of constantly getting him into trouble. But, for once, Pete's tricks have led him to just the right place at just the right time. Now he's about to become famous, because he's been asked to audition for the hottest new indie movie with the hottest girl costar. But balancing real life with life on set is way harder than it sounds. Will Pete's newfound fame mean losing his girlfriend and all his friends?

INTRODUCTION

IT CAN’T BE THAT HARD to write a book, right?

I mean, if Charlie Joe Jackson can do it, anyone can do it.

So I thought I’d write a book about the time I became a movie star.

My book will...

Praise for Pete Milano's Guide to Being a Movie Star

“. . . fans of Charlie Joe Jackson's world will enjoy getting to spend more time with these characters.” —School Library Journal on Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting! (And Lives to Tell About It)

“Fans of the Charlie Joe Jackson series will enjoy the evolving changes in Charlie Joe and Katie's friendship. With wit and perception, Greenwald reminds readers that there is communication beyond their electronics.” —Kirkus Reviews on Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting! (And Lives to Tell About It)

“In author Tommy Greenwald's raucous debut…this comedy of comeuppance shows its true colors, and, irony of ironies, is impossible to put down!” —Disney's Family Fun on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

“A perfect book for the non-reader or reluctant reader in your life...Laugh-out-loud funny, clever, and relevant, I believe Tommy Greenwald has written a book that will appeal to kids of all reading tastes.” —ReadKiddoRead.com on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

“Fans of Joey Pigza and Big Nate will find a lot to love here. . . A series that improves with each offering.” —Kirkus Reviews on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation

“A great read for reluctant readers or readers just looking for a little harmless fun.” —Booklist on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation

“A cautionary tale the whole family will find amusing and enlightening.” —Kirkus Reviews on Jack Strong Takes a Stand

“Readily accessible to reluctant readers, but this is su… More…

“. . . fans of Charlie Joe Jackson's world will enjoy getting to spend more time with these characters.” —School Library Journal on Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting! (And Lives to Tell About It)

“Fans of the Charlie Joe Jackson series will enjoy the evolving changes in Charlie Joe and Katie's friendship. With wit and perception, Greenwald reminds readers that there is communication beyond their electronics.” —Kirkus Reviews on Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting! (And Lives to Tell About It)

“In author Tommy Greenwald's raucous debut…this comedy of comeuppance shows its true colors, and, irony of ironies, is impossible to put down!” —Disney's Family Fun on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

“A perfect book for the non-reader or reluctant reader in your life...Laugh-out-loud funny, clever, and relevant, I believe Tommy Greenwald has written a book that will appeal to kids of all reading tastes.” —ReadKiddoRead.com on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

“Fans of Joey Pigza and Big Nate will find a lot to love here. . . A series that improves with each offering.” —Kirkus Reviews on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation

“A great read for reluctant readers or readers just looking for a little harmless fun.” —Booklist on Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation

“A cautionary tale the whole family will find amusing and enlightening.” —Kirkus Reviews on Jack Strong Takes a Stand

“Readily accessible to reluctant readers, but this is sure to entice a wide range of kids, who may just want to stage standoffs themselves.” —Booklist on Jack Strong Takes a Stand

“Greenwald successfully melds plot and character surprises to engage youngsters and brings the story to an emotionally satisfying conclusion. Both avid and reluctant readers will enjoy meeting Jack Strong.” —School Library Journal on Jack Strong Takes a Stand

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER