Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

The Breakaways

Author: Cathy G. Johnson

The Breakaways

The Breakaways

$14.99

About This Book

Quiet, sensitive Faith starts middle school already worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popular eighth grader, convinces her to join the school soccer team, the Bloodhounds....

Page Count
224
On Sale
03/05/2019

Book Details

Quiet, sensitive Faith starts middle school already worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popular eighth grader, convinces her to join the school soccer team, the Bloodhounds. Having never played soccer in her life, Faith ends up on the C team, a ragtag group that’s way better at drama than at teamwork. Although they are awful at soccer, Faith and her teammates soon form a bond both on and off the soccer field that challenges their notions of loyalty, identity, friendship, and unity.

The Breakaways from Cathy G. Johnson is a raw, and beautifully honest graphic novel that looks into the lives of a diverse and defiantly independent group of kids learning to make room for themselves in the world.

Imprint Publisher

First Second

ISBN

9781626723573

In The News

"A down-to-earth friendship story for readers of Svetlana Chmakova’s Awkward, Jennifer L. Holm’s Sunny Side Up, and Raina Telgemeier’s Drama." —School Library Journal

About the Creators

The Breakaways

The Breakaways

$14.99