Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Demon in the Wood

The Demon in the Wood

A Darkling Prequel Story

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy

Leigh Bardugo

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)



See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with Shadow and Bone, now a Netflix original series.

Before he ruled Ravka, before he was the Darkling, he was just a lonely boy with an extraordinary gift. In this prequel story to the New York Times-bestselling Grisha Trilogy, Leigh Bardugo takes us into Ravka's mysterious past, when Grisha lived as fugitives and the Darkling took his first steps on the path to power. Discover new territory in the Grishaverse, as well as two chapters from the soon-to-be-released Six of Crows.

Reviews from Goodreads

Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is the author of the New York Times-bestselling Grisha Trilogy. She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects.
These days, she lives and writes in Hollywood, where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.

image of Leigh Bardugoo
Christina Guerra

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook