Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Wet

Wet

Carey Sookocheff

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover

Sometimes it's fun to get wet. And sometimes it's not.

This is a thoughtful exploration of the ways to get and be wet—from puddles and pools, to puppydog kisses. A boy describes how he gets wet at the swimming pool, at the playground, at home. Emotionally resonant and carefully observed, with a gentle bedtime ending, this is a poetic celebration of wetness—and childhood. Perfect for fans of Deborah Underwood's The Quiet Book.

Reviews

Praise for Wet

"There's gentle humor, compelling (but comfortingly minor) angst, and a loving family to keep the boy safe through his adventures. An intriguing approach to exploring a familiar natural phenomenon, this will appeal to thoughtful young listeners who may want to share their own experiences in response." —Kirkus Reviews

"There’s something comforting about this slow, methodical laying out of possibilities. The point is not to convey knowledge or demonstrate cleverness; rather, it’s an exploration of how we come to know what we know. . . A calming book for the end of a long day." —Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Carey Sookocheff

Carey Sookocheff is a new picture book talent. She lives in Toronto with her husband, two kids, and their dog, Rosie.

Carey Sookocheff

From the Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER