Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Hollow Fields Vol. 1

Hollow Fields Vol. 1

Hollow Fields (Volume 1)

Story and art by Madeleine Rosca

Seven Seas

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

Little Lucy Snow was meant to be enjoying her first day at the nice elementary school in town; however a macabre twist of fate sees her enrolled instead at Miss Weaver's Academy for the Scientifically Gifted and Ethically Unfettered—also known as Hollow Fields.

Located on the outskirts of Nullsville and run by the insidious Engineers, the grim boarding school dedicates itself to raising the next generation of mad scientists and evil geniuses! Classes include Live Taxidermy, Cross-Species Body-Part Transplantation and Killer Robot Construction, and for her own survival Lucy has to master them quickly...the student with the lowest grades at the end of each school week is sent to the old windmill for detention—and so far, no child has ever returned!

Praise for Hollow Fields Vol. 1

“This is the best book I've read all year.” —ComicSnob.com

“A rich fantasy of fertile imagination that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events.” —ActiveAnime.com

Reviews from Goodreads

Story and art by Madeleine Rosca

In 2007, Australian writer/artist Madeleine Rosca received the first International Manga Award, dubbed the "Nobel Prize of manga" by the Foreign Ministry of Japan, for best non-Japanese manga, for Hollow Fields.