Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
City of Lies

City of Lies

The Poison Wars (Volume 1)

Sam Hawke

Tor Books

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

This amazing epic fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Naomi Novik.

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me... Outwardly, Jovan is the lifelong friend of the Chancellor’s charming, irresponsible Heir. Quiet. Forgettable. In secret, he's a master of poisons and chemicals, trained to protect the Chancellor’s family from treachery. When the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army lays siege to the city, Jovan and his sister Kalina must protect the Heir and save their city-state.
But treachery lurks in every corner, and the ancient spirits of the land are rising...and angry.

Reviews

Praise for City of Lies

"A tale of poisoners, deceit and treachery that will surely keep readers entranced. I don’t read many stories as twisty and unpredictable, especially in the latter chapters, as this one, and I loved what Sam Hawke did." -- Terry Brooks

"If the first line doesn’t make you buy this book, you should turn in your fantasy-lover’s badge. City of Lies got me through sitting seven hours in an airport, and proves that a tale about the one who risks his life to thwart assassins can be as compelling as any assassin’s tale." -- Robin Hobb

"Sibling protagonists anchor this twisty story of old grievances coming to a boil. Hawke writes with nuance about the loves, loyalties, ambitions, and resentments that bind her characters together and threaten to tear them apart." -- Kate Elliott

"Absolutely loved this; the world building is brilliant, the mystery and crime elements merge seamlessly into a fantastical world of poisoners, warrior-guilds and ancient magic. But the heart of the story is the central characters, they’re written with such depth, flawed, human and likeable. City of Lies is a wonderful read and one that I'd highly recommend to all lovers of fantasy." -- John Gwynne

"An enormously enjoyable read, one of the best new fantasies I’ve seen in a long time."--Adrian Tchaikovsky

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Sam Hawke

A black belt in jujitsu, Sam Hawke lives with her husband and children in Australia. CITY OF LIES is her first novel.

samhawkewrites.com
@samhawkewrites
facebook.com/samhawkewrites

Sam Hawke

Kris Arnold Photography

Community

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER