Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Clover Twig and the Perilous Path

Clover Twig and the Perilous Path

Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

Square Fish

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

Lovable Clover Twig is back, and this time she's traveling along the Perilous Path to try and save her little brother Herby, in this new installment from Kaye Umansky.

Clover Twig—clever, neat, responsible—is still in the employ of Mrs. Eckles—chaotic, cantankerous, and a witch. One day, Granny Dismal, a witch from the neighboring village, warns them that the Perilous Path has been seen in the woods. The Perilous Path has been around for ages and every witch in town is familiar with its lures and tricks, but it's all new for the sensible Clover Twig and her clumsy friend Wilf. When little Herby, Clover's baby brother, goes missing, Clover and Wilf must take their chances on the Path and rescue him from the clutches of Mrs. Eckles' evil sister, Mesmeranza.

USBBY Outstanding International Book, Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year, USBBY-CBC Outstanding International Book

EXCERPT

CHAPTER ONE

She's Got a Visitor

It was Saturday morning, and Clover Twig was walking through the woods, on her way back from the village of Tingly Bottom. Her basket was heavy with all the things she needed for breakfast.
Mrs....

Reviews

Praise for Clover Twig and the Perilous Path

“Fans will be delighted to revisit the quirky characters and the author's wry, enchanting humor.” —BCCB

“Umansky's characters are once again charmingly quirky, and she peppers her tale with amusingly outlandish events.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A good read-aloud choice.” —Booklist

“Fans of Roald Dahl or Eva Ibbotson may enjoy discovering the secret of the magical cottage along with Clover.” —School Library Journal on Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage

“A rambunctious plot, lashings of corny and delightful wordplay, and an original supporting cast contribute to the fun.” —The Horn Book on Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage

“British author Umansky's giggle-worthy characterizations and dialogue make this winsome read-aloud stand out from the pack.” —Kirkus Reviews on Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Kaye Umansky, illustrated by Johanna Wright

Kaye Umansky is the author of over 130 books for young readers, including The Silver Spoon of Solomon Snow and Clover Twig and the Magical Cottage. She lives in London with a nice husband (Mo), a nice daughter (Ella), and two crazy cats called Heathcliff and Jeremy.
Born in Eugene, Oregon, Johanna Wright has received degrees in puppetry and children's literature. She is the author of The Orchestra Pit. After living in Brooklyn, New York, Johanna has now returned to Oregon where she spends much of her time writing, painting, and searching for Sasquatch. She lives in Portland with her musician husband and their daughter, Juniper

Kaye Umansky

Johanna Wright

From the Publisher

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER