Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
In Search of Mockingbird

In Search of Mockingbird

Loretta Ellsworth

Square Fish

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

A runaway seeks Harper Lee for answers

Sometimes the things that need to be discovered aren't so easily found at home. Erin is certain that this is true in her case. A book is all that connects Erin to her mother, who died when she was a baby. But how much can Erin really learn about her mother from a tattered copy of To Kill a Mockingbird? On the eve of her sixteenth birthday, Erin decides it's finally time to find out. And so begins her bus journey from Minnesota to Alabama in search of Harper Lee, the reclusive author of To Kill a Mockingbird.

In a novel full of quirky characters, strange coincidences, and on-the-road adventures, In Search of Mockingbird by Loretta Ellsworth deftly traces a unique voyage of self-discovery, perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird and Go Set a Watchman.

“Light, contemporary quest story . . . Suggest this as a follow-up to Lee's classic novel.” —Booklist

“Erin's journey of self-discovery gives her the courage to confront her own failings and the maturity to accept her father's plans to marry. . . . Readers will root for her while reaching for a copy of To Kill a Mockingbird.” —Publishers Weekly

"Ellsworth makes Erin's unlikely coming-of-age trip convincing. Designed to look like an old journal, the story's searching-for-mother theme should make it especially appealing to older fans of Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn Dixie (2000) and Phyllis Reynolds Naylor's Alice Books. An engaging road trip." -Kirkus Reviews

Texas TAYSHAS High School Reading List, NYPL Books for the Teen Age, NCTE Notable Child. Bks in Lang. A, IRA Children's Book Award Notable Book, New York Charlotte Award Master List

Reviews

Praise for In Search of Mockingbird

“Light, contemporary quest story . . . Suggest this as a follow-up to Lee's classic novel.” —Booklist

“Erin's journey of self-discovery gives her the courage to confront her own failings and the maturity to accept her father's plans to marry. . . . Readers will root for her while reaching for a copy of To Kill a Mockingbird.” —Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Loretta Ellsworth

Loretta Ellsworth is the author of the acclaimed middle-grade novel The Shrouding Woman. A former schoolteacher and mother of four grown children, Loretta lives in Lakeville, Minnesota.

Loretta Ellsworth

Catherine Smith Photography

From the Publisher

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER