Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Pirates Eat Porridge

Pirates Eat Porridge

by Christopher Morgan, illustrated by Neil Curtis

Roaring Brook Press

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

HOIST THE SAILS! MAN THE POOP DECK! A side-splitting tale with ridicuous pictures to tickle the funny bones of kids everywhere.

"Who is the captain of this here fish-finger house?" When a pirate arrives at Billy and Heidi's door, it's the start of a crazy and unpredictable adventure as they sail their "fish-finger" house to Itchy Ear Island, and learn all sorts of quirky facts about pirates, parrots, and cabbages along the way. Filled with outrageously funny dialogue, this hilarious pirate tale is the perfect yarn for newly independent readers (and scallywags)!

EXCERPT

Pirates Eat Porridge

Billy loved being in his tree house.
Up here, he could see the mountains to the east, the sea to the south, the buildings of the city to the west, and all sorts of interesting things in the sky.
He...

Reviews

Praise for Pirates Eat Porridge

“Billy is the sort of boy who likes to sit in his treehouse and ponder the great questions: "Do clouds talk to each other? Do flying fish have nests? Who tells the tide to go out?" Billy is not the sort of boy who would be surprised to find a floating treasure map or have his sister Heidi announce the arrival of a pirate and a pig at his door. Soft-spoken Billy and no-nonsense Heidi negotiate the arrival of their demanding guest with a combination of cunning, understanding and acceptance. Along the way, they learn a lot about pirates, pirate school, seagulls, cabbage and porridge. New readers will appreciate the detailed and exuberant black-and-white illustrations, especially the exaggerated beard and head of the pirate and his "parrot," who happens to look a lot like a pig. The silly, convoluted plot might be a bit much for a new reader, but the pictures go far to help comprehension. Fans of Lane Smith and Jon Scieszka will find lots to laugh at here. (Fiction. 8-10)” —Kirkus Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

by Christopher Morgan, illustrated by Neil Curtis

Christopher Morgan has been a musician, furniture maker, and public servant. His first novel, The Four Rivers, was published in 2006.

Neil Curtis was the recipient of the Silver Award for illustration by the Australian Writers and Art Directors' Association, and has published a number of award-winning picture books.

Christopher Morgan

Neil Curtis

From the Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER