Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

A Kate Shackleton Mystery

A “refreshingly complex heroine” (Kirkus) who acts as an investigator for women in the English countryside. Kate takes on her first professional sleuthing case in Dying in the Wool, spurred on by her own investigation into her husband’s disappearance while serving in World War I. Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton mysteries have been shortlisted for the Mary Higgins Clark Award and the Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

  • Death in the Stars
    g
    • Death in the Stars

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 9)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • France Brody captures the atmosphere and language of 1920s England while delivering a captivating plot in the ninth book of this traditional cozy mystery series featuring private investigator Kate...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • Death at the Seaside
    g
    • Death at the Seaside

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 8)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Frances Brody writes marvelous British mysteries, and if you haven't met the wonderful Kate Shackleton, Death at the Seaside is the perfect place to start this terrific series! Whether...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • A Death in the Dales
    g
    • A Death in the Dales

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 7)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • A delightful traditional British cozy featuring fledgling private investigator Kate Shackleton, in the vein of Jacqueline Winspear.

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Death of an Avid Reader
    g
    • Death of an Avid Reader

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 6)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton make Death of an Avid Reader an absorbing...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Murder on a Summer's Day
    g
    • Murder on a Summer's Day

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 5)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • A Maharajah on the Moors
      When the India Office seeks help in finding Maharajah Narayan, they call upon the expertise of renowned amateur detective Kate Shackleton to investigate.

      A...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • A Woman Unknown
    g
    • A Woman Unknown

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 4)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • A Library Journal Best Book of 2014

      A winning combination of both intricate plotting and nostalgic post-WWI English country setting, Frances Brody's A Woman Unknown will appeal to...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Murder in the Afternoon
    g
    • Murder in the Afternoon

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 3)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in Murder in the Afternoon, an absorbing mystery.

      Dead...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • A Medal for Murder
    g
    • A Medal for Murder

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 2)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs… They make excellent heroines." --Literary Review

      Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Dying in the Wool
    g
    • Dying in the Wool

    • A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Volume 1)
      Frances Brody
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "Reminiscent of Dorothy L. Sayers and Agatha Christie with a thoroughly likeable protagonist and a plot that held me to the end." —Mignon F. Ballard, author of the Miss Dimple Kilpatrick Mystery...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook

Frances Brody

FRANCES BRODY lives in Leeds in the North of England. Before turning to crime with her first book in the Kate Shackleton series Dying in the Wool, she wrote historical sagas, winning the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin award for most regionally evocative debut saga of the millennium. Other Kate Shackleton Mysteries include Death at the Seaside, A Death in the Dales, and Murder on a Summer's Day.

John Orange