Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures

Dewey Lambdin chronicles the adventures, and comic mis-adventures, of Alan Lewrie of the Royal Navy. More Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones or George MacDonald Fraser’s Flashman than C.S. Forester’s hand-wringing, insecure Horatio Hornblower or Patrick O’Brian’s Jack Aubrey, Lewrie cuts a wide and joyous swath through the American Revolution, “war on the cheap,” ‘tween the wars, the French Revolution, the Napoleonic Wars, and the Great Age of Sail . . . tongue firmly planted in his cheek all the way, truly a man of his times.

Alan didn’t intend to join the Royal Navy and become a hero for King and Country, but got “Impressed” in 1780 by his rakehell father, Sir Hugo St. George Willoughby, just before he was to inherit from his deceased mother’s side, and Sir Hugo needed the money “perishin’ bad!” Hard cheese for young Lewrie, being an official bastard (that would be said of him quite often in his career, none of it endearingly!) and shoved in King’s Coat in the middle of the American Revolution, made a Midshipman at 17, and torn from his carousings, late night partying, and the bosoms (so to speak) of willing young ladies.

The Royal Navy may beat nautical knowledge and stern Duty into him, drag him kicking and screaming into harum-scarum, neck-or-nothing action, but . . . give him but one day ashore, and Lewrie will usually find a way to get himself into trouble, mostly with the ladies (“some no better than they ought to be!”). Though he doesn’t gamble (not too deep, anyway) doesn’t smoke (except when with Muskogee Indians in Spanish Florida) and doesn’t get too “cup-shot,” his lifelong fascination for “doing the needful” will always trip him up.

No matter how drear a task Lewrie’s superiors at Admiralty give him, he’ll always find a way to liven things up, and do his foes “the dirty.” Lewrie may be bright, but not quite as “sly-boots” as he imagines, so the bad guys can take him two falls out of three, though he’ll find a way to win in the end, and “put the boot in” quite gladly! When things are going too well, Dame Fortune usually awakes from a nap and kicks him in the fundament, just to keep him humble. 

Along the way there’s a colourful collection of characters (a host of ‘em female, o’ course!); “Captain Sharps” and cads, personal foes and his King’s enemies; pirates from the Caribbean to the China Seas, spies and finaglers of every stripe, jaunts to Africa, a traveling circus, rebels and royalists; grudges, spites, petti-coat interest and leery superiors, a suspicious wife and doubting in-laws, and, his cats, along with bastard offspring of his own, so many that one character termed them the “Lewrie Miscellany.”

 

Books in this Series

A Fine Retribution
g

A Fine Retribution

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 23)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Dewey Lambdin, the reigning master of maritime fiction, continues the adventures of Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, from his days as a midshipman to captain of his own ship and, though on somewhat dubious...

Avaliable in:

eBook
Buy
A Hard, Cruel Shore
g

A Hard, Cruel Shore

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 22)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

“You could get addicted to this series. Easily.”---The New York Times Book Review

The year 1809 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, and his ship, HMS Sapphire....

Avaliable in:

eBook
Buy
Kings and Emperors
g

Kings and Emperors

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 21)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

“Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O’Brian and Forester.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In Dewey Lambdin's Kings and Emperors, Captain Alan...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
The King's Marauder
g

The King's Marauder

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 20)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

The year 1807 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy. He's living at his father's estate at Anglesgreen, recovering from a wound suffered in the South Atlantic. At last there's a bright...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
Hostile Shores
g

Hostile Shores

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 19)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, was having a good year in the summer of 1805, commanding a small squadron of sloops in pursuit of French and Spanish privateers, till rumors of a huge French...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
Reefs and Shoals
g

Reefs and Shoals

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 18)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Pity poor Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy! He's been torn away from a warm shore bed--and the viscount's daughter who shared it with him--and ordered by Admiralty to the Bahamas, into the teeth of...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
The Invasion Year
g

The Invasion Year

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 17)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

The Invasion Year is the seventeenth tale in Dewey Lambdin's smashing naval adventure series.

For a fellow like Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, who despises the French worse than the...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
King, Ship, and Sword
g

King, Ship, and Sword

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 16)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

December, 1801. The Peace of Amiens ends the long war with Napoleon Bonaparte's France, but Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is appalled by its consequences. What is a dashing and successful frigate...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
The Baltic Gambit
g

The Baltic Gambit

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 15)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

January 1801, and Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, known as ""St. Alan the Liberator"" for freeing (stealing!) a dozen black slaves on Jamaica to man his frigate years before, is at last being brought...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
Troubled Waters
g

Troubled Waters

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 14)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

"Stunning naval adventure, reeking of powder and mayhem. I wish I had written this series."

---Bernard Cornwell

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
A King's Trade
g

A King's Trade

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 13)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

"Stunning naval adventure, reeking of powder and mayhem. I wish I had written this series."

---Bernard Cornwell

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
The Captain's Vengeance
g

The Captain's Vengeance

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 12)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

It is early February, 1799, a year of war.

Sailing in the Caribbean, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is once again pursuing a chimera.
A rich French prize ship he'd left at anchor at...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
Havoc's Sword
g

Havoc's Sword

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 11)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Dewey Lambdin's lovable but incorrigible rogue, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is back to cut a wide and wicked swatch through the war-torn Caribbean in an entirely new high seas adventure.

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
Sea of Grey
g

Sea of Grey

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 10)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Captain Alan Lewrie returns in Dewey Lambdin's tenth roaring adventure on the high seas.

This time, it's off to a failing British intervention on the ultra-rich French colony of Saint...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
King's Captain
g

King's Captain

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 9)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Following the footsteps of Horatio Hornblower and Jack Aubrey, whose ripping adventures capture thousands of new readers each year, comes the heir apparent to the mantle of Forester and O'Brian:...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
The King's Privateer
g

The King's Privateer

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 4)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

The fourth book in the Alan Lewrie series.

1783: His Majesty's secret agent...

Back from war in the Americas, young navy veteran Alan Lewrie finds London pure pleasure. Then, at Plymouth...

Avaliable in:

eBook
Buy
The King's Commission
g

The King's Commission

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 3)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

Dewey Lambdin has created one of the greatest characters in historical adventure fiction. Naval officer and rogue, Alan Lewrie is a man of his times and a hero for all times. His equals are Hornblower,...

Avaliable in:

eBook
Buy
The King's Coat
g

The King's Coat

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 1)
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE CLASSIC SERIES OF ALAN LEWRIE NAVAL ADVENTURES

1780: Seventeen-year-old Alan Lewrie is a brash, rebellious young libertine. So much so that his callous father believes...

Avaliable in:

eBook
Buy
A Collection of 15 Alan Lewrie Novels

A Collection of 15 Alan Lewrie Novels

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

“You could get addicted to this series. Easily.” --The New York Times Book Review

Dewey Lambdin is the reigning master of maritime fiction, celebrated as the heir to Patrick O'Brian...

Avaliable in:

Buy
Lewrie and the Hogsheads
g

Lewrie and the Hogsheads

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures
Dewey Lambdin
St. Martin's Press

"Lambdin is closing on Patrick O'Brian as the most prolific historical novelist to celebrate a Royal Navy mariner." —Washington Times

Dewey Lambdin presents a new short story, "Lewrie and...

Avaliable in:

eBook
Buy

About the author

Dewey Lambdin

Dewey Lambdin is the author of the Alan Lewrie novels. A member of the U.S. Naval Institute and a Friend of the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, he spends his free time working and sailing on a rather tatty old sloop. He makes his home in Nashville, Tennessee.

Photo: Grant “Sgt. Speed” Achepohl

Dewey Lambdin