Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures

Dewey Lambdin chronicles the adventures, and comic mis-adventures, of Alan Lewrie of the Royal Navy. More Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones or George MacDonald Fraser’s Flashman than C.S. Forester’s hand-wringing, insecure Horatio Hornblower or Patrick O’Brian’s Jack Aubrey, Lewrie cuts a wide and joyous swath through the American Revolution, “war on the cheap,” ‘tween the wars, the French Revolution, the Napoleonic Wars, and the Great Age of Sail . . . tongue firmly planted in his cheek all the way, truly a man of his times.

Alan didn’t intend to join the Royal Navy and become a hero for King and Country, but got “Impressed” in 1780 by his rakehell father, Sir Hugo St. George Willoughby, just before he was to inherit from his deceased mother’s side, and Sir Hugo needed the money “perishin’ bad!” Hard cheese for young Lewrie, being an official bastard (that would be said of him quite often in his career, none of it endearingly!) and shoved in King’s Coat in the middle of the American Revolution, made a Midshipman at 17, and torn from his carousings, late night partying, and the bosoms (so to speak) of willing young ladies.

The Royal Navy may beat nautical knowledge and stern Duty into him, drag him kicking and screaming into harum-scarum, neck-or-nothing action, but . . . give him but one day ashore, and Lewrie will usually find a way to get himself into trouble, mostly with the ladies (“some no better than they ought to be!”). Though he doesn’t gamble (not too deep, anyway) doesn’t smoke (except when with Muskogee Indians in Spanish Florida) and doesn’t get too “cup-shot,” his lifelong fascination for “doing the needful” will always trip him up.

No matter how drear a task Lewrie’s superiors at Admiralty give him, he’ll always find a way to liven things up, and do his foes “the dirty.” Lewrie may be bright, but not quite as “sly-boots” as he imagines, so the bad guys can take him two falls out of three, though he’ll find a way to win in the end, and “put the boot in” quite gladly! When things are going too well, Dame Fortune usually awakes from a nap and kicks him in the fundament, just to keep him humble. 

Along the way there’s a colourful collection of characters (a host of ‘em female, o’ course!); “Captain Sharps” and cads, personal foes and his King’s enemies; pirates from the Caribbean to the China Seas, spies and finaglers of every stripe, jaunts to Africa, a traveling circus, rebels and royalists; grudges, spites, petti-coat interest and leery superiors, a suspicious wife and doubting in-laws, and, his cats, along with bastard offspring of his own, so many that one character termed them the “Lewrie Miscellany.”

 

  • Much Ado About Lewrie
    g
    • Much Ado About Lewrie

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 25)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • The twenty-fifth novel in Dewey Lambdin's beloved series of historical naval adventure

      Lewrie loses his ship and his command when he receives news...

      • Available in:

      • Audio Book
      • eBook
  • An Onshore Storm
    g
    • An Onshore Storm

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 24)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • For over twenty years, Dewey Lambdin's devoted fans have followed the adventures of Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, from his days as a midshipmen to captain of his own ship and, though on somewhat dubious...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • A Fine Retribution
    g
    • A Fine Retribution

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 23)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • The twenty-third novel in Dewey Lambdin’s beloved series of historical naval adventure.

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • A Hard, Cruel Shore
    g
    • A Hard, Cruel Shore

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 22)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • “You could get addicted to this series. Easily.”---The New York Times Book Review

      The year 1809 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, and his ship, HMS Sapphire....

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • Kings and Emperors
    g
    • Kings and Emperors

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 21)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • “Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O’Brian and Forester.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

      In Dewey Lambdin's Kings and Emperors, Captain...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • The King's Marauder
    g
    • The King's Marauder

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 20)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • The year 1807 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy. He's living at his father's estate at Anglesgreen, recovering from a wound suffered in the South Atlantic. At last there's a bright...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Hostile Shores
    g
    • Hostile Shores

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 19)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, was having a good year in the summer of 1805, commanding a small squadron of sloops in pursuit of French and Spanish privateers, till rumors of a huge French...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Reefs and Shoals
    g
    • Reefs and Shoals

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 18)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Pity poor Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy! He's been torn away from a warm shore bed--and the viscount's daughter who shared it with him--and ordered by Admiralty to the Bahamas, into the teeth of...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • The Invasion Year
    g
    • The Invasion Year

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 17)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • The Invasion Year is the seventeenth tale in Dewey Lambdin's smashing naval adventure series.

      For a fellow like Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, who despises the French worse than...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • King, Ship, and Sword
    g
    • King, Ship, and Sword

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 16)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • December, 1801. The Peace of Amiens ends the long war with Napoleon Bonaparte's France, but Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is appalled by its consequences. What is a dashing and successful frigate...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • The Baltic Gambit
    g
    • The Baltic Gambit

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 15)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • January 1801, and Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, known as ""St. Alan the Liberator"" for freeing (stealing!) a dozen black slaves on Jamaica to man his frigate years before, is at last being brought...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Troubled Waters
    g
    • Troubled Waters

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 14)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "Stunning naval adventure, reeking of powder and mayhem. I wish I had written this series."

      ---Bernard Cornwell

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • A King's Trade
    g
    • A King's Trade

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 13)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "Stunning naval adventure, reeking of powder and mayhem. I wish I had written this series."

      ---Bernard Cornwell

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • The Captain's Vengeance
    g
    • The Captain's Vengeance

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 12)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • It is early February, 1799, a year of war.

      Sailing in the Caribbean, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is once again pursuing a chimera.
      A rich French prize ship he'd left at anchor at...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Havoc's Sword
    g
    • Havoc's Sword

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 11)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Dewey Lambdin's lovable but incorrigible rogue, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is back to cut a wide and wicked swatch through the war-torn Caribbean in an entirely new high seas adventure.

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • Sea of Grey
    g
    • Sea of Grey

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 10)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Captain Alan Lewrie returns in Dewey Lambdin's tenth roaring adventure on the high seas.

      This time, it's off to a failing British intervention on the ultra-rich French colony...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • King's Captain
    g
    • King's Captain

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 9)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Following the footsteps of Horatio Hornblower and Jack Aubrey, whose ripping adventures capture thousands of new readers each year, comes the heir apparent to the mantle of Forester and O'Brian:...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • eBook
  • The King's Privateer
    g
    • The King's Privateer

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 4)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • The fourth book in the Alan Lewrie series.

      1783: His Majesty's secret agent...

      Back from war in the Americas, young navy veteran Alan Lewrie finds London pure pleasure. Then, at Plymouth...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • The King's Commission
    g
    • The King's Commission

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 3)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Dewey Lambdin has created one of the greatest characters in historical adventure fiction. Naval officer and rogue, Alan Lewrie is a man of his times and a hero for all times. His equals are Hornblower,...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • The King's Coat
    g
    • The King's Coat

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures (Volume 1)
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE CLASSIC SERIES OF ALAN LEWRIE NAVAL ADVENTURES

      1780: Seventeen-year-old Alan Lewrie is a brash, rebellious young libertine. So much so that his callous father believes...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • A Collection of 15 Alan Lewrie Novels
    g
    • A Collection of 15 Alan Lewrie Novels

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • “You could get addicted to this series. Easily.” --The New York Times Book Review on the Alan lewrie Novels

      Dewey Lambdin is the reigning master of maritime fiction,...

      • Available in:

  • Lewrie and the Hogsheads
    g
    • Lewrie and the Hogsheads

    • Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures
      Dewey Lambdin
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "Lambdin is closing on Patrick O'Brian as the most prolific historical novelist to celebrate a Royal Navy mariner." —Washington Times

      Dewey Lambdin presents a new short story, "Lewrie and...

      • Available in:

      • eBook

Dewey Lambdin

Dewey Lambdin is the author of the Alan Lewrie novels. A member of the U.S. Naval Institute and a Friend of the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, he spends his free time working and sailing on a rather tatty old sloop. He makes his home in Nashville, Tennessee.

Photo: Grant “Sgt. Speed” Achepohl

Dewey Lambdin