Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Dark Descent

Hugo Award-winning editor David G. Hartwell presents a series of anthologies tracing the complex, 200-year evolution of horror through the genre’s finest short stories and novellas. The collections demonstrate the close-knit ties between horror and other dark fiction, including the Gothic, weird, fantastic, and psychological subgenres.

The Dark Descent, which won the World Fantasy Award for Best Anthology, consists of three volumes–The Color of Evil, The Medusa in the Shield, and A Fabulous Formless Darkness–each of which includes short stories from classic authors such as Edgar Allen Poe, Edith Wharton, H.P. Lovecraft, and Charles Dickens; as well as modern writers such as Stephen King, Ray Bradbury, Clive Barker, and Shirley Jackson. A preface to each story explains its history and its author’s place within the horror genre.

  • The Dark Descent
    • The Dark Descent

    • Dark Descent
      Edited by David G. Hartwell; With contributions by Clive Barker, Ray Bradbury, John Collier, Shirley Jackson, Stephen King, Joyce Carol Oates, and many others

    • Winner of the World Fantasy Award for Best Anthology. A gigantic, superlatively edited historical overview of horror fiction.” —Chicago Sun-Times

      In The...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book