Habits of the House


Fay Weldon

About this Series

From the award-winning novelist and writer of the iconic TV show Upstairs Downstairs comes this brilliant trilogy about what life was really like for masters and servants before the world of Downton Abbey. Fay Weldon’s Habits of the House series, set at the beginning of the nineteenth century, features Earl of Dilberne, Lord Robert, his wife Isobel, and Grace, the lady’s maid, and many more. “There is simply no touching Weldon as a writer.” (The Observer, UK). “Fay Weldon has always examined the scary parts of what lies beneath the silk cushions and behind the closed gates.” (The Chronicle of Higher Education on Habits of the House).

About the Author

About the Author