Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Kingdom of Cards

Raise the velvet curtains for Kingdom of Cards, an immersive teen fantasy series set in a richly textured theatrical world of backstage intrigue and dangerous performances, from author Janella Angeles.

A group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes. Kallia, a show girl determined to prove her greatness in a field full of men, must summon all her wits and talent to uncover a mystery while putting on the show of her life…and ignoring the distractions of a handsome fellow magician.

Full of atmospheric theatrical details and riveting stage magic, Kingdom of Cards is a startling and romantic fantasy duology set in a world where magic is both celebrated and feared, and no heart is left unscathed.

  • When Night Breaks
    g
    • When Night Breaks

    • Kingdom of Cards (Volume 2)
      Janella Angeles
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • Kallia must free herself of a glittering underworld where magic is currency and hers is like a flame gone out, while Daron threatens to sacrifice himself to save her, in the startling conclusion to Where Dreams Descend.

      • Available in:

      • Audio Book
      • eBook
  • Where Dreams Descend
    g
    • Where Dreams Descend

    • Kingdom of Cards (Volume 1)
      Janella Angeles
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook

Janella Angeles

JANELLA ANGELES is the Filipino-American bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend. She got her start in writing through consuming glorious amounts of fanfiction at a young age—which eventually led to creating original stories of her own. She currently resides in Massachusetts where she works in the business of publishing books on top of writing them, and is most likely to be found listening to musicals on repeat while daydreaming too much for her own good.

Mei Lin Barral

Spotify