Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery

In the wake of World War II, Miss Iris Sparks and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge establish The Right Sort Marriage Bureau to help lovelorn Londoners find prospective spouses—and support themselves as independent women. But every client has at least one skeleton in their closet, and Gwen and Iris must draw on an extensive range of contacts established during the war to discretely investigate potential mates and their baggage.

 

Praise for Alison Montclair’s The Right Sort of Man:

Best Mystery of 2019 –ALA’s Reading List Council

“Stellar… Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot… Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date!” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The plot moves quickly, well-paced with unexpected twists. There are moments of light-heartedness and moments of deep emotion, adding depth and dimension and lifting this book well out of the field of run-of-the-mill historical mysteries. The dialogue is fast-paced and funny, with some of the best one-liners I’ve seen in a novel.” –Historical Novel Society (Editor’s Choice)

  • A Royal Affair
    g
    • A Royal Affair

    • Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery (Volume 2)
      Allison Montclair
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • More goes wrong than could be imagined when Iris Sparks and Gwendolyn Bainbridge of The Right Sort Marriage Bureau are unexpectedly engaged to dig into the past of a suitor of a royal princess...

      • Available in:

      • eBook
  • The Right Sort of Man
    g
    • The Right Sort of Man

    • Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery (Volume 1)
      Allison Montclair
      St. Martin's Publishing Group

    • "A delightful immersion in the period and personalities, with that touch of depth that transforms a good series to a great one." —Laurie R. King

      First comes...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook

Allison Montclair

ALLISON MONTCLAIR grew up devouring hand-me-down Agatha Christie paperbacks and James Bond movies. As a result of this deplorable upbringing, Montclair became addicted to tales of crime, intrigue, and espionage. She now spends her spare time poking through the corners, nooks, and crannies of history, searching for the odd mysterious bits and transforming them into novels of her own. The Right Sort of Man is her debut novel.

Allison Montclair