The Edda of Burdens


Elizabeth Bear

About this Series

From multi-award-winning author Elizabeth Bear, The Edda of Burdens fantasy trilogy is inspired by Norse folklore.

It began with Ragnarok, with the Children of the Light and the Tarnished ones battling to the death in the ice and the dark. At the end of the long battle, one wounded valkyrie survived—and one valraven, the steeds of the valkyrie.

Two thousand, five hundred years later, Muire is in the last city on the dying planet, where the Technomancer rules the remnants of humanity—and where she will make the ultimate sacrifice to see the world reborn…

“Numerous fantasy authors adopt the tropes of Norse mythology, but Bear actively pursues them, channeling those myths directly rather than overlaying them on more familiar ones. The result demands much from readers, but repays it in vivid, sensual imagery of a wholly different world.” —Publishers Weekly (on By the Mountain Bound)

About the Author

About the Author