The History of England


Peter Ackroyd

About this Series

Having written enthralling biographies of London and of its great river, the Thames, acclaimed author Peter Ackroyd now turns to England itself in a landmark six-part history. Ackroyd is a cornerstone of Britain’s literary landscape, with acclaimed novels, retellings of Chaucer and Mallory and other major works of non-fiction. This series, beginning with Stonehenge and ending with the twentieth century, is something he’s been waiting to write all his life. It is history with the emphasis on story, a real pleasure to read, full of riveting details.  A renowned author’s most ambitious project in a long and successful career that has been anything but unambitious.


About the Author

About the Author