Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

The Revolution Trilogy

Rick Atkinson, the Pulitzer Prize-winning and #1 bestselling author of the renowned World War II history, The Liberation Trilogy, explores the roots and events of the conflict that gave birth to America with The Revolution Trilogy. Featuring never before told tales and presenting both Colonial and British perspectives, Atkinson’s groundbreaking series is revelatory.

“A definitive survey of the first stage of the war…By providing vivid portraits of even minor characters, Atkinson enables readers to feel the loss of individual lives on both sides of the conflict, and by providing memorable details…he brings new life even to chapters of oft-told American history…A superlative treatment of the period.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review on The British Are Coming: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777)

  • The British Are Coming
    • The British Are Coming

    • The Revolution Trilogy (Volume 1)
      Rick Atkinson
      Henry Holt and Co.

    • Winner of the George Washington Prize
      Winner of the Barbara and David Zalaznick Book Prize in American History
      Winner of the Excellence in American...

      • Available in:

      • Physical Book
      • Audio Book
      • eBook


<a href="">George Washington, A Novice General</a>

George Washington, A Novice General

At the start of the Revolutionary War, it had been seventeen years since General George Washington last wore a military uniform and he was only a provincial officer with limited experience in frontier combat. But it quickly became clear, Washington was instinctively, brilliantly, a political general.

Rick Atkinson

Rick Atkinson is the bestselling author of the Liberation Trilogy—An Army at Dawn (winner of the Pulitzer Prize for History), The Day of Battle, and The Guns at Last Light—as well as The Long Gray Line and other books. His many additional awards include a Pulitzer Prize in journalism, a George Polk Award, and the Pritzker Military Library Literature Award. A former staff writer and senior editor at The Washington Post, he lives in Washington, D.C.

Elliott O'Donovan

The Revolution Trilogy