Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Bone Orchard

The Bone Orchard

A Novel

Mike Bowditch Mysteries (Volume 5)

Paul Doiron

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

"The Bone Orchard [is] both a rich exploration of character and a satisfying mystery." —Bruce DeSilva, Associated Press"Excellent . . . Thoughtful plotting and strong characters raise this above the crime novel pack." Publishers weekly

In the aftermath of a family tragedy, Mike Bowditch has left the Maine Warden Service and is working as a fishing guide in the North Woods. But when his mentor Sgt. Kathy Frost is forced to kill a troubled war veteran in an apparent case of "suicide by cop," he begins having second thoughts about his decision.

Now Kathy finds herself the target of a government inquiry and outrage from the dead soldier's platoon mates. Soon she finds herself in the sights of a sniper, as well. When the sergeant is shot outside her farmhouse, Mike joins the hunt to find the mysterious man responsible. To do so, the ex-warden must plunge into his friend's secret past—even as a beautiful woman from Mike's own past returns, throwing into jeopardy his tentative romance with wildlife biologist Stacey Stevens.

As Kathy Frost lies on the brink of death and a dangerous shooter stalks the blueberry barrens of central Maine, Bowditch is forced to confront the choices he has made and determine, once and for all, the kind of man he truly is, in The Bone Orchard by Paul Doiron.

Reviews

Praise for The Bone Orchard

Massacre Pond is a tough act to follow, but Doiron avoids series stagnancy by placing Bowditch outside of the law-enforcement circle he once loved and treating readers to another round of top-notch outdoors-Maine descrition. Highly recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson.” —Booklist

“Excellent . . . Thoughtful plotting and strong characters raise this above the crime novel pack.” —Publishers weekly (starred review)

“Vivid local characters and wild Maine landscapes, as well as a satisfying mystery. Recommended for readers who appreciate maverick backwoods investigators like Steve Hamilton's Alex McKnight.” —Library Journal

Bad Little Falls is a jewel of a book. Doiron has gotten it all magnificently right: a hell of a good mystery, beautifully drawn landscape and characters so evocatively written they follow you off the page. Buy this. The guy can write.” —Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of Rope

“A high-stakes, high-tension yarn in which you keep wishing everything would turn out fine for the deeply flawed, deeply sympathetic hero.” —Kirkus

“Excellent . . . a murder case with some truly wicked twists. Dorion matches strong characters with effective prose and subtle characterizations. Fans of Steve Hamilton's Alex McKnight series, likewise set in a remote region close to Canada, will find a lot to like.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Paul Doiron

Bestselling author PAUL DOIRON is the editor in chief of Down East: The Magazine of Maine. A native of Maine, he attended Yale University and holds an MFA from Emerson College. His first book, The Poacher's Son, is the winner of the Barry award, the Strand award for best first novel, and a finalist for the Edgar and Anthony awards. Paul is a Registered Maine Guide and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

Paul Doiron

Mark Fleming

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER