Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Hazel Wood: Chapter Sampler

The Hazel Wood: Chapter Sampler

Melissa Albert

Flatiron Books

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

This excerpt from The Hazel Wood—Melissa Albert's fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of The Magicians—contains the first six chapters.

Everyone is talking about The Hazel Wood!

“Thoroughly, creepily captivating.” —Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling and Jane, Unlimited
“This book is pure imagination candy.” —Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval
“Destined to be a classic.” —Kami Garcia, author of The Lovely Reckless
“Absolutely breathtaking.” —Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway
“Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny.” —Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places
“Unlike anything else I’ve ever read before.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown’s Game
“A part of me will never leave The Hazel Wood.” —Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere
“An elegant dark fairy tale, full of the power of story.” —Kat Howard, author of Roses and Rot

Reviews

Praise for The Hazel Wood: Chapter Sampler

The Hazel Wood is thoroughly, creepily captivating, with surprises I never saw coming! Such a refreshing and beautifully written inversion of the classic fairy tale-inspired story.”
Kristin Cashore, award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Graceling and Jane Unlimited

“This book will be your next literary obsession. Welcome to the Hazel Wood, where bad luck is a living thing, princesses are doomed, and every page contains a wondrously terrible adventure—it’s not safe inside these pages, but once you enter, you may never want to leave. The Hazel Wood is pure imagination candy.”
Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

“Reader, I warn you: this book beckoned me in with delicate claws then sank its teeth into my heart. I fear a part of me will never escape The Hazel Wood.”
Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

“Elegant, ethereal, and beautifully brutal, The Hazel Wood is a fairy tale worth falling for. This is a dream of a book I cannot recommend highly enough. It's like falling into a nautilus shell: every time you think you've found the end, another chamber opens. Absolutely breathtaking.”
—Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of Every Heart a Doorway

“WOW. The Hazel Wood is absolutely mesmerizing, magical, and inventive. Hats off to Melissa Albert!” Karen McManus, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

The Hazel Wood kept me up all night. I had every light burning and the covers pulled tight around me as I fell completely into the dark and beautiful world within its pages. Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny, it’s one of the very best books I’ve read in years.”
—Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places

“Full of dark, twisty corners and eerie beauty, The Hazel Wood is like nothing else I’ve read before.”
—Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of The Crown's Game

“Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood is an elegant dark fairy tale, full of the power of story. It’s creepy and gorgeous, and I loved every word.”
—Kat Howard, acclaimed author of Roses and Rot

About the author

Melissa Albert

Melissa Albert is the founding editor of the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog and the managing editor of BN.com. She has written for McSweeney’s, Time Out Chicago, MTV, and more. Melissa is from Illinois and lives in Brooklyn. The Hazel Wood is her first novel. Find her on Twitter.

Melissa Albert

Laura Etheredge

Melissa Albert