Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Seventh Scroll

The Seventh Scroll

A Novel of Ancient Egypt

Novels of Ancient Egypt (Volume 2)

Wilbur Smith

St. Martin's Paperbacks



Mass Market Paperbound

For 4,000 years, the lavish crypt of the Pharaoh Mamose has never been found...until the Seventh Scroll, a cryptic message written by he slave Taita, gives beautiful Egyptologist Royan Al Simma a tantalizing clue to its location.

But this is a treasure cache others would kill to possess. Only one step ahead of assassins, Royan runs for her life and into the arms of the only man she can trust, Sir Nicholas Quenton-Harper--a daring man who will stake his fortune and his life to join her hunt for the king's tomb. Together, they will embark on a breathtaking journey to the most exotic locale on earth, where the greatest mystery of ancient Egypt, a chilling danger and an explosive passion are waiting.

Steeped in ancient mystery, drama and action, The Seventh Scroll is a masterpiece from Wilbur Smith, a storyteller at the height of his powers.



The dusk crept in from the desert, and shaded the dunes with purple. Like a thick velvet cloak it muted all sounds, so that the evening was tranquil and hushed.

From where they stood on the crest of the dune they looked...


Praise for The Seventh Scroll

“Great adventure...a smashing story.” —Ocala Star-Banner

“A page-turner...Few novelists can write action scenes that all but leap off the page the way Smith can...His detailed portrait of ancient Egypt is fascinating.” —Anniston Star (TX)

“Throughout The Seventh Scroll, as in all Wilbur Smith novels, the plot twists and turns with constant surprises ... This old-fashioned adventure novel keeps the reader enthralled all the way to its very exciting conclusion.” —The Washington Post Book World

“It's clear Smith knows his subject: his graphic depiction of lust, bloodletting, politics, and … honor is firmly grounded in rich details that evoke the period. … A consummate sequel, The Seventh Scroll perfectly complements River God, its phenomenally popular precursor. Smith excels at action sequences, getting his attractive heroes and despicable villains into and out of hugely entertaining predicaments, all the while tossing off vivid descriptions, bits of historical detail, and classic low-key British banter.” —Booklist

“This well-crafted novel is full of adventure, tension, and intrigue.” —Library Journal

“Intoxicating... A heady mix of exotic adventure, romance, and Egyptology. Smith is a master.” —Publishers Weekly

“A desert sandstorm couldn't get the pages turning faster than Smith.” —Independent On Sunday

“Full-blooded, muscle-on-bone-crunching treasure hunt ... it is non-stop action and thrill.” —Daily Express

“A rousing good sequel to River God that takes the immensely entertaining form of a high-tech treasure hunt ... A master storyteller at the top of his considerable form.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Life-threatening dangers loom around every turn, leaving the reader breathless ... An incredibly exciting and satisfying read.” —Chattanooga Free Press

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Wilbur Smith

Wilbur Smith is the bestselling author of many novels, each meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. His bestselling Courtney series includes Assegai, The Sound of Thunder, Birds of Prey, Monsoon, and Blue Horizon. His other books include Those in Peril, River God, Warlock, and The Sunbird. His books are now translated into twenty-six languages and have sold over 120 million copies. Smith was born to a British family in Northern Rhodesia, now Zambia, in Central Africa, and attended Rhodes University in South Africa. He has homes in Cape Town, London, Switzerland and Malta.

Wilbur Smith

Read a Q&A with Wilbur Smith

From the Publisher

St. Martin's Paperbacks

Latest on Facebook