Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Summer Palace

The Summer Palace

Volume Three of the Annals of the Chosen

The Annals of the Chosen (Volume 3)

Lawrence Watt-Evans

Tor Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

All of the world is kept in a delicate balance under the supervision of the Wizard Lord. It is his duty to govern lightly and protect his domain…but if he should stray from the way of the just then it is up to the Chosen to intercede. The Chosen are the Leader, the Seer, the Swordsman, the Beauty, the Thief, the Scholar, the Archer, and the Speaker, magically infused mortal individuals who for the term of their service have only one function--to remove an errant Wizard Lord.


But the new Wizard Lord has now changed the playing field by neutralizing all magic in his domain (both his own and that of the Chosen) and has successfully killed and/or blocked his adversaries and their challenges to his omnipotence. Sword (now on the run) must work alone to restore order to their fair land and unravel the mystery of the Ninth Talisman--which might be the salvation or downfall of all that is good in their well ordered land.



At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

EXCERPT

[1]

The only land route out of Barokan was that path up the cliff to the Uplands. Escape by sea might be possible, but Sword was no sailor, and knew nothing of where he might find a ship, or where it might take him; he preferred to stay on...

Reviews

Praise for The Summer Palace

“If you like swords, sorcery, and interplay between characters, this is the book for you. The rush towards confrontation was exhilarating. I look forward to the third installment.” —SFRevu.com

“Fans of Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance saga will find this series much to their taste.” —Publishers Weekly

“The deliberately archetypal Chosen are not without individual character, thanks to Watt-Evans' dry wit, and the Wizard Lord isn't a standard magical potentate. But he is treading a classic path for his ilk by introducing technology that may conflict with magic--how deeply is the Chosen's current and probably future concern in the gifted, prolific Watt-Evans' promising new series.” —Booklist

“Veteran SF and fantasy author Watt-Evans (The Obsidian Chronicles) displays his command of the fantasy genre in this fast-paced, fluidly told sequel to The Wizard Lord.” —Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

Community

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER