Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Violet Hour

The Violet Hour

A Novel

Daniel Judson

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

In Daniel Judson's powerful thriller, Bridgehampton mechanic Caleb Rakowski gets paid under the table at his friend Eric Carver's auto repair shop and lives in an apartment above it. He's good at his job and he's making a decent living, but right now he's sheltering a pregnant friend who'll do anything to keep her abusive husband away from her. Cal has sworn to protect her. Little does he know, though, the trouble destined to come down over the course of three days—Mischief Night, Halloween, and the Day of the Dead—when he learns the truth about his friend and boss Eric Carver and what he's been hiding all these years.

Daniel Judson is a craftsman of modern noir, an incredible talent in the vein of Ellroy or Chandler. Like his previous novels, The Violet Hour is tightly drawn, hauntingly atmospheric, and completely searing.

EXCERPT

THE VIOLET HOUR
One


During the final week of October, on a clear but moonless night, the last train from Manhattan pulled into Bridgehampton, a solitary female passenger disembarking and heading straight for the nondescript black Ford...

Reviews

Praise for The Violet Hour

“[Judson] mines Long Island' South Fork for glittering noir nuggets.” —Publishers Weekly on The Violet Hour

“In the cutthroat game of Survivalist Poker, Cal can wheel and deal with the worst of them.” —Kirkus Reviews on The Violet Hour

“Daniel Judson is so much more than a crime-fiction novelist. He's a tattooed poet, a mad philosopher of the Apocalypse fascinated with exploring the darkest places in people's souls.” —Chicago Tribune on The Water’s Edge

“Action packed. . . . It's noir on ice.” —USA Today on The Darkest Place

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Daniel Judson

Daniel Judson, a Shamus Award winner and three-time finalist, is the author of four previous novels, most recently The Water's Edge. He attended Southampton College, and his time in the Hamptons (particularly the parts that don't make the society pages) was the inspiration for the setting and characters in The Violet Hour. He now lives in Connecticut.

Daniel Judson

Photo: Christine Alexander

Daniel Judson

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER