Skip to main content
US Macmillan Tradebooks for Courses

Tears We Cannot Stop

A Sermon to White America

Michael Eric Dyson

St. Martin's Press

Tears We Cannot Stop Download image

ISBN10: 1250135990
ISBN13: 9781250135995

Hardcover

240 Pages

$24.99

CA$34.99

Request Desk Copy
Request Exam Copy

TRADE BOOKS FOR COURSES NEWSLETTER

Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice is heard above the rest. In his New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop—a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted. Short, emotional, literary, powerful—this is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.

Reviews

Praise for Tears We Cannot Stop

“One of the most frank and searing discussions on race . . . a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's 'The Fire Next Time' and King's ‘Why We Can't Wait.’”—The New York Times Book Review

"Readers will find searing moments in Tears We Cannot Stop, when Dyson's words proves unforgettable . . . But more than education, Dyson wants a reckoning."The Washington Post

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Michael Eric Dyson

MICHAEL ERIC DYSON is one of America’s premier public intellectuals. He occupies the distinguished position of University Professor of Sociology at Georgetown University, is a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times, and is a contributing editor of The New Republic and ESPN’s The Undefeated. Ebony magazine named him one of the 100 Most Influential African Americans and one of the 150 most powerful blacks in the nation.

Nina Subin

Michael Eric Dyson

Official Links

Macmillan Speakers ?

X

Macmillan Speakers Bureau

Represents thought-provoking authors and experts. We can find a speaker uniquely positioned for your audience and budget.

More info