Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Winterhouse

Winterhouse

Winterhouse (Volume 1)

Ben Guterson; illustrations by Chloe Bristol

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut—the first book in a trilogy—set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers’s malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms—most notably its massive library. It’s not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel’s secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel’s curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to car for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

A Christy Ottaviano Book

CHAPTER 1

A TROUBLING NOTE


NODE

MODE

MADE

MATE

GATE

When Elizabeth Somers tugged open the gate to her aunt and uncle’s yard and saw an envelope duct-taped...

Praise for Winterhouse

"Guterson provides readers a treat: mean caregivers à la the Dursleys; a vast, luxurious hotel where oddities abound; a new word-puzzle-loving friend; a shrouded history for Winterhouse; and sinister circumstances. . . Clever and captivating."--Kirkus Reviews

"Filled with puzzles and magic, Guterson’s debut keeps suspense high as the secrets of Elizabeth’s past unwind. This satisfying mystery leaves just enough unanswered questions to have readers eager for the next book in this planned trilogy."-Publishers Weekly

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The MysteriousBenedict Society. . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story."--School Library Journal

"A natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello’s
Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch."--Booklist

Reviews from Goodreads

Ben Guterson; illustrations by Chloe Bristol

Ben Guterson was born and raised in Seattle. Before working at Microsoft as a Program Manager, Ben spent a decade teaching public school on the Navajo Reservation in New Mexico and in rural Colorado. He has written features and book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites, as well as a nature-travel guide to the Southwest. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle. Winterhouse is his first book.

Ben Guterson

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER