OVERRIDE

A Stranger in Mayfair

Charles Lenox Mysteries

Charles Finch

Minotaur Books

In this enthralling mystery, detective Charles Lenox tries to resist the lure of a case and focus on his new career in Parliament.

Returning from a continental honeymoon with his new wife, Lady Jane, Lenox is asked by a colleague in Parliament to consult in the murder of a footman, bludgeoned to death with a brick. His investigation uncovers some unsettling facts about the family he served and a strange, second identity that the footman himself cultivated.

Going into the boxing clubs and public houses, the Mayfair mansions and servants’ quarters of Victorian London, Lenox gradually realizes that an old friend may be implicated in the footman’s death. Soon a suspect is arrested, but Lenox has his doubts. Desperately trying to balance the opening of Parliament and what he feels sure is a dark secret surrounding the murder, he soon discovers that the killer is someone seemingly beyond suspicion, and may be prepared to spill blood again—even a detective’s.

REVIEWS

Praise for A Stranger in Mayfair

“An absolute delight . . . Finch vividly brings 1860s London to life.” —USA Today

“Readers of Anne Perry should be snatching up Finch’s books and clamoring for more.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“Perfect for fans of Lord Peter Wimsey.” —The Wichita Eagle

“A beguiling Victorian mystery.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review on The Fleet Street Murders

“The best sort of historical mystery—clever, charming, full of period detail, and a delight to read.” —David Liss, author of The Devil’s Company, on A Beautiful Blue Death

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Charles Finch

  • Charles Finch is a graduate of Yale and Oxford. He is the author of the Charles Lenox mysteries, including The Fleet Street Murders and The September Society. His first novel, A Beautiful Blue Death, was nominated for an Agatha Award and was named one of Library Journal’s Best Books of 2007, one of only five mystery novels on the list. He lives in Oxford, England.
  • Charles Finch Photo: Alix Smith
    Charles Finch
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    A Stranger in Mayfair

    Charles Lenox Mysteries

    Charles Finch

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK