Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Death in the Andes

Death in the Andes

A Novel

Mario Vargas Llosa; Translated by Edith Grossman

Farrar, Straus and Giroux




Set in an isolated, rundown community in the Peruvian Andes, Vargas Llosa's novel tells the story of a series of mysterious disappearances involving the Shining Path guerrillas and a local couple performing cannibalistic sacrifices with strange similiarities to the Dionysian rituals of ancient Greece. Part detective novel and part political allegory, it offers a panoramic view of Peruvian society; not only of the current political violence and social upheaval, but also of the country's past and its connection to Indian culture and pre-Hispanic mysticism.

Nobel Prize in Literature, Nobel Prize For Literature


When he saw the Indian woman appear at the door of the shack, Lituma guessed what she was going to say. And she did say it, but she was mumbling in Quechua while the saliva gathered at the corners of her toothless...


Praise for Death in the Andes

“Peru's best novelist--one of the world's best.” —John Updike, The New Yorker

“Well-knit social criticism as trenchant as any by Balzac or Flaubert . . . This is a novel that plumbs the heart of the Americas.” —The Washington Post Book World

“Remarkable . . . a fantastically picturesque landscape of Indians and llamas, snowy peaks, hunger, and violence.” —Raymond Sokolov, The Wall Street Journal

“Meticulously realistic descriptions of this high, unforgiving landscape and the haunted people who perch there . . . merge into a surreal portrait of a place both specific and universal.” —Time

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Mario Vargas Llosa; Translated by Edith Grossman

MARIO VARGAS LLOSA was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2010 "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat." Peru's foremost writer, he has been awarded the Cervantes Prize, the Spanish-speaking world's most distinguished literary honor, and the Jerusalem Prize. His many works include The Feast of the Goat, The Bad Girl, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, The War of the End of the World, and The Storyteller. He lives in London.

Mario Vargas Llosa

Morgana Vargas Llosa

Edith Grossman

Work in Progress essay by Vargas Llosa

Learn about Vargas Llosa's Nobel Prize

Paris Review Interview with Vargas Llosa

A New York Times profile on Vargas Llosa

From the Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Latest on Facebook