Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
A Cavern of Black Ice

A Cavern of Black Ice

A Sword of Shadows Novel

Sword of Shadows (Volume 1)

J. V. Jones

Tor Books



A Cavern of Black Ice is the first book in J.V. Jones's Sword of Shadow series

As a newborn Ash March was abandoned--left for dead at the foot of a frozen mountain. Found and raised by the Penthero Iss, the mighty Surlord of Spire Vanis, she has always known she is different. Terrible dreams plague her and sometimes in the darkness she hears dread voices from another world. Iss watches her as she grows to womanhood, eager to discover what powers his ward might possess. As his interest quickens, he sends his living blade, Marafice Eye, to guard her night and day.

Raif Sevrance, a young man of Clan Blackhail, also knows he is different, with uncanny abilities that distance him from the clan. But when he and his brother survive an ambush that plunges the entire Northern Territories into war, he yet seeks justice for his own . . . even if means he must forsake clan and kin.

Ash and Raif must learn to master their powers and accept their joint fate if they are to defeat an ancient prophecy and prevent the release of the pure evil known as the End Lords.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


Praise for A Cavern of Black Ice

“Peopled with great characters. . . guaranteed to send chills through the bones.” —Dallas Morning News on A Cavern of Black Ice

“Fabulous . . . a trilogy which is sure to take readers everywhere by storm.” —SFX on A Cavern of Black Ice

“J.V.Jones strings out the suspense right up until the very last word.” —Des Moines Sunday Register on A Cavern of Black Ice

“Tough, incisive, character-driven fantasy.” —Locus on A Cavern of Black Ice

“A complex tale of sorcery and swordsmanship, intrigue and affairs of the heart.” —Library Journal on A Fortress of Grey Ice

“A superb novel, sculpted from colorful vocabulary and fantastic clarity [by] a brilliant storyteller sure to continue her dazzling career....Read it, or regret it later...a triumph.” —SFX on The Barbed Coil

“Wonderful . . . J. V. Jones is a striking writer.” —Robert Jordan on The Baker's Boy

“J.V. Jones is quite a find . . . . A deliciously intricate tale.” —Katherine Kurtz, author of the Deryni series, on The Baker's Boy

“One of fantasy fiction's newest sensations . . . Jones became a bestselling novelist in only two years . . . [she] invests her tale with characters as rich as oven-baked bread, and with a sense of humor drawn from the pubs in her homeland, England.” —Des Moines Sunday Register on Master and Fool

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

J. V. Jones

J. V. Jones is the author of the bestselling Book of Words trilogy, The Barbed Coil, and A Cavern of Black Ice, the first book of the Sword of Shadows series. Born in England, she now makes her home in San Diego, California, where she's working on the third Sword of Shadows novel, A Sword from Red Ice.

J. V. Jones



    Latest on Facebook


    From the Publisher

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook