OVERRIDE

In the Company of Ogres

A. Lee Martinez

Tor Books

An uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett!

For someone who's immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency--he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment.

Ogre Company is the legion's dumping ground--a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That's where Ned's rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company's newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevil pilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc.
Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that's not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found out why he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . .

In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez's previous novel, Gil's All Fright Diner, did for horror--and elves and goblins may never be the same!


At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One
His name was Never Dead Ned, but it was only a nickname. He could die. He'd met his death forty-nine times, and forty-nine times he'd risen from the grave. Although, after his reputation spread, people stopped bothering to bury him. They'd just throw his corpse in a corner and wait for him to rise again. And he always did. But every death took a little bit away from him, put another ache in his joints, sapped a little more spring from his step. And Ned learned the hard way that there were worse things than dying.
 
There was dying over and over again.
 
Ned
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for In the Company of Ogres

"[A] terrific debut. . . . Fans of Douglas Adams will happily sink their teeth into this combo platter of raunchy laughs and ectoplasmic ecstasy."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Gil's All Fright Diner

"[A] laugh-out-loud comic fantasy that should appeal to fans of Terry Brooks's Landover novels."--Library Journal on Gil's All Fright Diner

"Do you know a young man twelve to seventeen years old who hates reading? Does he love gory subjects, especially when action-packed sex, danger, horror, and fantasy are included? Then this is the book for him!"--Voices of Youth Advocates on Gil's All Fright Diner

"Delightfully droll, this comic romp will be a crowd-pleaser."--Booklist on Gil's All Fright Diner

"It's an appetizing snack perfect for devouring quickly over a hot cop o' joe."--Fangoria on Gil's All Fright Diner

"If there's any justice in this world, Martinez is already working on a sequel to star Duke, Earl, Cathy, and the ghost of a plucky little dog."--Analog Science Fiction and Fact on Gil's All Fright Diner

"It's horror both humorous and grisly, a twisted take on small-town America and buddy adventures."--Locus on Gil's All Fright Diner

"A supernatural concoction spicier and tastier than a bowl of Texas red. . . . The funniest book you ever read about the undead, the occult, and Armageddon."--The Decatur Daily, Alabama, on Gil's All Fright Diner

"Can a vampire find true love with a ghost? Can a teenage witch open the gates of Hell? Anything can happen in Martinez's wacky debut."--Charlaine Harris, bestselling author of Dead to the World on Gil's All Fright Diner
"[A] terrific debut. . . . Fans of Douglas Adams will happily sink their teeth into this combo platter of raunchy laughs and ectoplasmic ecstasy."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Gil's All Fright Diner

"[A] laugh-out-loud comic fantasy that should appeal to fans of Terry Brooks's Landover novels."--Library Journal on Gil's All Fright Diner

"Do you know a young man twelve to seventeen years old who hates reading? Does he love gory subjects, especially when action-packed sex, danger, horror, and fantasy are included? Then this is the book for him!"--Voices of Youth Advocates on Gil's All Fright Diner

"Delightfully droll, this comic romp will be a crowd-pleaser."--Booklist on Gil's All Fright Diner

"It's an appetizing snack perfect for devouring quickly over a hot cop o' joe."--Fangoria on Gil's All Fright Diner

"If there's any justice in this world, Martinez is already working on a sequel to star Duke, Earl, Cathy, and the ghost of a plucky little dog."--Analog Science Fiction and Fact on Gil's All Fright Diner

"It's horror both humorous and grisly, a twisted take on small-town America and buddy adventures."--Locus on Gil's All Fright Diner

"A supernatural concoction spicier and tastier than a bowl of Texas red. . . . The funniest book you ever read about the undead, the occult, and Armageddon."--The Decatur Daily, Alabama, on Gil's All Fright Diner

"Can a vampire find true love with a ghost? Can a teenage witch open the gates of Hell? Anything can happen in Martinez's wacky debut."--Charlaine Harris, bestselling author of Dead to the World on Gil's All Fright Diner

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • A. Lee Martinez

  • A. Lee Martinez lives in Terrell, Texas.
  • A. Lee Martinez
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    In the Company of Ogres

    A. Lee Martinez

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK