OVERRIDE

Tales of the Night

Peter Hoeg

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

These eight stories are linked by a date and a motif.  All of them have to do with love.  Love and its conditions on the night of March 19, 1929.
 
In his second book and his only collection of stories, Peter Høeg proves himself to be a true storyteller in the tradition of Karen Blixen and Joseph Conrad.  These beautifully constructed tales deal with love, the classic arts and sciences, and the confrontation of Western and non-Western cultures.  Moving from a railroad car in the Congo to a sailboat in Lisbon's harbor to an upper-class apartment in Copenhagen, they include the tales of a young, disillusioned mathematician who comes face-to-face with his culture's distorition of Africa; an esteemed judge who runs off with the young man he has just sentenced to prison for his homosexual tendencies; and a town--sealed off from the plague--that is infiltrated by a troupe of traveling actors.

REVIEWS

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Peter Hoeg

  • Peter Høeg, born in 1957 in Denmark, followed various callings--dancer, actor, sailor, fencer, and mountaineer--before turning seriously to writing. He is the bestselling author of five novels and one short story collection. His work has been published in thirty-three countries.
  • Peter Høeg Copyright Ulla Montan
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Tales of the Night

Peter Hoeg

  • e-Book

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

BACK