OVERRIDE

Raining Cat Sitters and Dogs

A Dixie Hemingway Mystery

Dixie Hemingway Mysteries

Blaize Clement

Minotaur Books

Curiosity is always a killer for former police officer Dixie Hemingway. Even a trip to pick up her parrot at the veterinarian’s office is bound to turn up something…curious…and the teenager Dixie meets in the waiting room is no exception. “Jaz,” as she calls herself, is inconsolable after her stepfather ran over a rabbit with his car. Really? Dixie’s animal-like instinct tells her that something’s not quite right about this Jaz—and she’s going to make it her purrsonal business to find out more. Even if that means going on a wild-goose chase, from the pampered luxury of Siesta Key’s exclusive resorts to the gang wars being fought in the back alleys, to ferret out the truth. And not get caught with her tail between her legs in the process…

REVIEWS

Praise for Raining Cat Sitters and Dogs

PRAISE FOR BLAIZE CLEMENT AND

CAT SITTER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

  “Ingenious…captivating. A series that even people who dislike pet mysteries can enjoy.”
Reviewing the Evidence

“Thoughtful and compelling.”—Publishers Weekly

“A feel-good [series]…Recommend this one for readers who liked the southern setting and animal characters in Joyce and Jim Lavene’s The Telltale Turtle (2008).” —Booklist

 EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES  

“Gutsy, sexy…Dixie is Siesta Key’s favorite pet sitter.”—Sarasota Herald-Tribune

“Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable hybrid . . . sure to delight readers.”—Publishers Weekly

“For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon.”—Library Journal

“Ingenious…captivating. Here is a series that even people who dislike pet mysteries can enjoy.”
Reviewing the Evidence

 “Will have readers begging for more treats.”—Lansing State Journal

 DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

“Fast paced…the canine caper crowd will enjoy Florida’s leading pet-sitter.”—Midwest Book Review

“Clement’s fast-paced sophomore effort…builds suspense and delivers startling revelations.”
Publishers Weekly

“A fast-paced novel, an intriguing plot. Clement also infuses this entertaining story with a thoughtful meditation on death, survival, and moving on. It’s a lesson the animals in our lives already know.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Don’t let the cutesy title fool you. This isn’t one of those lightweight, frothy ‘fun with animals’ stories... It’s tough, gritty, and edgy. One of the strongest points of Clement’s work is her knack for building suspense slowly but steadily, to the point where you have no idea what peril might be lurking just around the bend.”— Sarasota Herald-Tribune

“Clement uses the animals in Dixie’s care…to enrich her plot, creating in the process an entertaining cozy, one of the few set in South Florida, land of noir.”—Booklist

 

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Blaize Clement

  • Blaize Clement is the author of the Dixie Hemingway mysteries: Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter, Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund, Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues, Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof, and Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, and Sisters in Crime. Clement has been a stay at home mom, dressmaker, caterer, and worked as a psychologist for 25 years. She has never been a pet sitter, but has shared her home with dogs, cats, birds, fish, and neurotic gerbils. She lives in Sarasota, Florida.
  • Blaize Clement Photo: Rick Geiger
    Blaize Clement
BACK

BUY THE BOOK

Available Formats and Book Details

Raining Cat Sitters and Dogs

A Dixie Hemingway Mystery

Dixie Hemingway Mysteries

Blaize Clement

BACK

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Minotaur Books

BACK