OVERRIDE

A Distance to Death

A Tink Elledge Mystery

A Tink Elledge Mystery

Holly Menino

Minotaur Books

Tink Elledge is back in the saddle—and in more danger than ever.  The race is a hundred miles through the Sierra Nevada against a backdrop of Darwin, evolution, and intelligent design. Smart, deftly plotted, and tuned to ongoing debate, this mystery is perfect for fans of Dick Francis.

Tink Elledge is a woman who doesn’t take well to sitting still—not when it comes to husbands, not when it comes to looking after her stepson Stephen, and certainly not when it comes to horses.  So when she gets the chance to ride in a competition again—even on a trail as grueling as the steep twists and turns of the legendary Tevis endurance trail ride—she jumps at it.  In the Sierra mountain wilderness, she and her friend Isabel—an avid horsewoman and Darwin devotee--will race across one hundred miles of spectacular gorges and cross heart-stopping fords.


Meanwhile, Stephen and Tink’s husband, Charlie, are nearby working on a new partnership with the brilliant but secretive scientist James Grant-Worthington. When Grant-Worthington suddenly dies of not-so-natural causes, the entire deal is thrown into question. Eager to help, Tink begins searching for clues, starting with Josh Untemeyer, the PR manager for the institute Grant-Worthington founded to promote the theory of intelligent design, who has also been pursuing Isabel. As Tink and Isabel join the pack of elite riders and their horses scramble up the vertiginous, narrow trail, Josh goes missing. Tink must sort through the secrets and lies in a race against time to cross the finish line and save the two people she cares for most in this lively, page-turning novel from acclaimed author Holly Menino.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1

 

Stories like this usually start out with a body, the form that holds the person in his or her last earthly state—God knows what comes after that, I don’t. I could show you this body, the arrangement of the head, neck, and the arms and legs, the location of the wounds or the lack of them and the details of blood and semen, the juices that keep our species viable. But if I started with the body, you would miss half the ride.

Ride is what the people who rode the horses called it, but the Tevis Cup was really just a race, a very long race with strict requirements

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for A Distance to Death

Praise for A Distance to Death
 
“Gripping… Ingeniously plotted – and equally fascinating in its equine and experimental aspects – A Distance to Death displays Menino’s fertile mind and her ability to translate those thoughts into intricate storytelling. Her second novel takes readers on a wild and satisfying ride.” –Richmond Times Dispatch

“Menino’s second outing (after Murder, She Rode) highlights the author’s deep knowledge of equines, along with her skill at developing an intriguing and layered story line. Tink brings to mind Rita Mae Brown’s Sister Jane and J.A. Jance’s Joanna Brady.” –Library Journal

“Sharply drawn characters and a vivid setting distinguish Menino’s appealing second Tink Elledge mystery… Even non-horse lovers will enjoy watching Tink manage her horse through the challenging Tevis.” –Publishers Weekly
 
Praise for Murder She Rode

“Menino, the author of four animal-centered works of nonfiction, brings her considerable knowledge of equine pursuits to this intriguing mystery, as well as a fully believable plot and particularly well-drawn characters, especially Tink. Murder, She Rode clears all the hurdles — and then some.” –Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Murder She Rode is smart, funny and sparklingly alive on every page. I devoured it.” –Spencer Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of A Fistful of Collars

“The suspense continues throughout the story, and it never drags. I couldn’t put it down until I knew how the story ended… The friendly rivalries in the sport are perfectly portrayed.  Naturally Tink wants her horse to win, but she’s still willing to risk her own life and limb for her fellow competitors.” –Chronicle of the Horse

“Menino’s accomplished debut includes detailed and fascinating information about the training, strategy, obstacle courses, and scoring involved in the equine competition… Tink makes a very appealing sleuth and Menino has populated her novel with a host of likely suspects and interesting secondary characters… A somewhat surprising villain and an exciting ending should leave readers eager to see more of Tink and the world of equestrian competitions.” –Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine

“Gripping… [an] exciting insider’s view of the elite horse world.” –Publishers Weekly

“The world of U.S. eventing, a type of triathlon for horses and their riders that is filled with athleticism and artistry, comes to life in Menino’s debut novel…. Elledge is in prime position to solve these seeming accidents, uncovering much that is rank at the base of all this beauty… This debut uncovers a fascinating subject and a promising writer.” --Booklist

“This fascinating debut mystery featuring a unique protagonist who reveals the behind-the-scenes life of elite horse competitions is the first in a projected series exploring current trends in science and technology.” –StopYoureKillingMe.com

“Holly Menino takes the blue ribbon for a lively, literate first equestrian mystery strong in characterization and plotting, long on suspense, braided with vivid detail, and beautifully written. Menino not only understands riders, trainers, and horse people, she knows how horses think. Best of all, she knows how to put all this together in a compelling story that will keep you reading past your bedtime. Start to finish, a winner.” --Susan Wittig Albert, author of Cat's Claw

“Just as Dick Francis knew the horse racing scene from the inside, Holly Menino can’t be faulted in her three-day eventing, and you’re in sure hands from the start. An action-packed debut that clears all the obstacles with pace and style.” --Peter Lovesey, award-winning author of Cop to Corpse

“Tink Elledge is a bright and arresting new detective, and Holly Menino is an exciting new voice in mystery fiction.  A wonderful novel.” --Jane Haddam, author of Blood in the Water

"With Murder She Rode, Holly Menino demonstrates both that she knows the eventing world, and that she knows how to write a well-crafted, compelling thriller full of action, intrigue, and suspense.  This is a stellar first novel, and it offers the promise of many more to come."  --Chuck Greaves, award-winning author of Hush Money and Green-Eyed Lady

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Holly Menino

  • HOLLY MENINO grew up in a small Ohio college town, where her passionate interest in animals showed itself by age three, about ten years before she heard the call to be a writer. A graduate of Smith College, she has worked in both scholarly and popular publishing and is the author of Murder, She Rode.
  • Holly Menino © Dede Hatch
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    A Distance to Death

    A Tink Elledge Mystery

    A Tink Elledge Mystery

    Holly Menino

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK