Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

Jean Anouilh

Jean Anouilh was born in Bordeaux in 1910 and lived for many years in Switzerland until his death in 1987. His best-known plays are: Restless Heart (1934), Dinner with the Family, Traveller without Lu ggage (both 1937) Thieves' Carnival (1938), Leocadia (1939), Point of Departure (Eurydice) (1941), A ntigone (1944), the Rehearsal (1950), The Waltz of the Toreadors (1952), The Lark (1953), Poor Bitos (1956), The Director of the Opera (1973). Methuen publishes two volumes of his collected plays.

Five Plays

Jean Anouilh
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Hill and Wang

The great French playwright Jean Anouilh (1910-87) wrote both "pink" bittersweet comedies and "black" tragic dramas. Jean Anouilh Five Playsthe finest English-language...

Available in:

Physical Book