Press

Read more about updates, press releases, and industry news from Macmillan and our various publishers.

June 2021

Celadon Books to Publish GROWING UP BIDEN, A Memoir by Valerie Biden Owens, Sister of Joseph Biden, Jr.

Celadon Books, a division of Macmillan Publishers, announced today the acquisition of a memoir by Valerie Biden Owens, Joseph Biden’s sister, longtime political strategist, and one of the first female campaign managers in US history. The memoir will detail Owens’ life, from growing up as the only daughter in the Biden family to her trailblazing, decades-long professional relationship with her brother.

Tor Books Acquires Holly Black’s Debut Adult Novel

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black announced on Friday evening that Tor Books would publish her debut adult novel BOOK OF NIGHT, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of NINTH HOUSE and THE NIGHT CIRCUS.

Inside story of the Pfizer BioNTech vaccine to be published by St. Martin’s Press

It was announced today that the inside story of the first vaccine in the global fight against the Covid-19 pandemic will be told in THE VACCINE: INSIDE THE RACE TO CONQUER THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC. BioNTech founders and scientist couple Ugur Sahin and Özlem Türeci, who were the first to produce the vaccine, will tell their story to Joe Miller of the Financial Times.

Macmillan Publishers to Pilot a Hybrid & Remote-Friendly Model

Macmillan Publishers announced today that the US Trade and Shared Services division will be piloting a Hybrid & Remote-Friendly work model. Under this model, employees whose work can be done remotely have the option to choose the number of days per week they work in the office, or choose to work fully remotely. They also announced that their office at 120 Broadway will officially reopen on October 18, 2021.

May 2021

Andrew Weber to leave Macmillan at end of May

Macmillan announced today that Andrew Weber, Global Chief Operating Officer, will depart at the end of May to take a position with another company. Weber joined Macmillan in 2013.

April 2021

Flatiron Books Acquires Martin Baron’s “Collision of Power”

Bob Miller, President of Flatiron Books, has announced today that the Macmillan division has acquired, in a preempt, North American rights to Martin Baron’s COLLISION OF POWER: Trump, Bezos, and The Washington Post. Flatiron Books’ Vice President and Editorial Director, Zachary Wagman, will edit.

Tordotcom Publishing Announces Its Biggest Deal To Date, with Murderbot Author Martha Wells

Tordotcom Publishing Executive Editor Lee Harris announced the largest deal for the imprint to date, the acquisition of six books by Martha Wells via Jennifer Jackson of the Donald Maass Literary Agency in a Major Deal. Martha Wells is the author of the New York Times and USA Today-bestselling Murderbot Diaries series.

Devi Pillai to Become President and Publisher, Tom Doherty Associates

Today I am announcing the appointment of Devi Pillai to the position of President and Publisher of Tom Doherty Associates, effective immediately. Devi joined Macmillan in 2016 as Associate Publisher, Tor/Forge Books.

A Note from Don Weisberg: Fritz Foy

To everyone: It is with sincere regret that I announce the retirement of Fritz Foy as President and Publisher of Tom Doherty Associates. Fritz’s contributions throughout the last 25 years, not only to TDA but to Macmillan as a whole, are considerable — and his career path is unlike any I have ever encountered.

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group Announces Neon Squid

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group announced today the launch of Neon Squid, a new imprint dedicated to publishing gift nonfiction books that make complex topics – from medicine to archaeology – accessible and exciting for children. Neon Squid will be led by Joanne Clark, Fiona Macdonald, and Sam Priddy, who will serve as Co-Publishers.

March 2021

Oprah Winfrey Names the Gilead Novels as the Next Oprah’s Book Club Selections

In partnership with Apple, Oprah Winfrey today announced her latest selections for Oprah’s Book Club are the Gilead novels by Marilynne Robinson. The four award-winning books—GILEAD, HOME, LILA, and JACK—are set in the fictional town of Gilead, Iowa, and explore powerful themes of faith, family legacies, love, and human connections.

February 2021

#1 Bestselling Authors Hillary Rodham Clinton and Louise Penny Team Up to Write Thriller

Simon & Schuster and St. Martin’s Press are proud to publish a novel written by Hillary Rodham Clinton and Louise Penny. A unique collaboration by two long-time friends and thriller aficionados, STATE OF TERROR will be published on October 12, 2021.

NBA Superstar Chris Paul to Publish Book with St. Martin’s Press

Phoenix Suns point guard, ten-time NBA All Star, and president of the National Basketball Players Association Chris Paul will publish his first book with St. Martin’s Press entitled “Sixty-One: Life Lessons from Papa, On and Off the Court.” Publication for the book is planned for September 2021.

Elizabeth Warren to Publish Picture Book with Godwin Books

Senator Elizabeth Warren is set to publish a picture book, “Pinkie Promises,” an empowering story inspired by the pinkie promises that are a hallmark of Senator Warren’s time in public office. Warren has signed with Godwin Books, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. With full color illustrations by award-winning illustrator Charlene Chua, the picture book will be published in fall 2021.

January 2021

Liane Moriarty’s New Novel ‘Apples Never Fall’ Coming from Holt Sept.14, 2021

Liane Moriarty, the best-selling author of eight previous books, including the No. 1 New York Times best seller “Big Little Lies” and The New York Times best seller “Nine Perfect Strangers,” will publish her new novel “Apples Never Fall” with Henry Holt, it was announced today by her long-time editor Amy Einhorn, President and Publisher of Holt. The U.S. release date is Sept. 14, 2021, in all formats. Macmillan Audio will record the audio book.

Jon Yaged Promoted to President, Macmillan Publishers US (Trade)

Today, I am excited to announce that Jon Yaged will become President, Macmillan Publishers US (Trade), effective immediately, and reporting to me. In this year of extraordinary change, it has become even more imperative that the President of the US Trade Publishers have a clear vision not just for the company we are, but for the company that we want to be. A company that is always looking to grow and evolve how we work to best reflect our global audience. A company that invests in our employees, authors, and in the communities in which we operate.

Tim Duggan to Join Henry Holt as VP, Executive Editor on February 1

Tim Duggan will join Henry Holt as V.P., Executive Editor on Feb. 1, 2021, it was announced today by Sarah Crichton, Holt’s V.P., Editor in Chief. Duggan brings with him a wealth of experience acquiring, editing and publishing notable fiction and nonfiction books, many of which were best sellers and recipients of prestigious literary awards. He will report to Crichton.

FSG to Publish New Novel from Sally Rooney This Fall

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, a division of Macmillan, will publish Beautiful World, Where Are You by the international bestselling author Sally Rooney. Mitzi Angel, Publisher of FSG, acquired exclusive US rights and non-exclusive open market rights from agents Tracy Bohan and Andrew Wylie at The Wylie Agency in a two-book deal. Rooney moves to FSG with this arrangement. Beautiful World, Where Are You will be published on September 7, 2021.

December 2020

Macmillan Announces Extension to Content Use Guidelines for Teachers, Librarians, & Parents

Macmillan Publishers announced today that it will extend its Content Use Guidelines for Teachers, Librarians, and Parents through June 30, 2021.

Sen. Elizabeth Warren’s New Book ‘Persist’ to Be Published in April 2021

Sen. Elizabeth Warren, the widely admired former presidential candidate and current U.S. Senator from Massachusetts, will write about six experiences and perspectives that have influenced her life and advocacy in “Persist,” a new book that will also be a passionate plea for political transformation. Metropolitan Books, an imprint of Henry Holt and Company and the publisher of her past two best sellers, will publish the book on April 20, 2021.

Natalie Portman Will Be National Library Week Honorary Chair

Natalie Portman will serve as honorary chair of the American Library Association’s (ALA) National Library Week, April 4–10, 2021. In her role, she will help highlight the essential role libraries, librarians, and library workers play in serving their communities, especially during challenging times.

Encantos and Macmillan Publishers Enter Into Strategic Publishing Relationship

Macmillan Publishers and Encantos, an edtech company focused on inspiring kids to learn 21st century skills through its award-winning and culturally authentic brands, have entered into a strategic publishing relationship covering all aspects of Encantos’ publishing business.

Tor Teen Acquires YA Contemporary Fantasy Trilogy From Debut Black Author, Terry J. Benton in Mid-Six Figure Deal

Tor Teen, the publisher of A SONG BELOW WATER and The Witchlands series, has acquired, in a major deal, BLOOD DEBTS, a YA contemporary fantasy trilogy by Terry J. Benton, pitched as “Dynasty with magic” set to publish in Winter 2023.

Mary L. Trump to Publish Book with St. Martin’s Press

It was announced today that Mary L. Trump will publish a new book with St. Martin’s Press entitled THE RECKONING. Publication for the book is planned for July 20, 2021. St. Martin’s Press SVP/Editor-in-Chief George Witte acquired World rights from literary agent Pilar Queen at UTA.

November 2020

Jonathan Franzen to Publish First Volume of New Trilogy Next Fall

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, a division of Macmillan Publishers, will publish Jonathan Franzen’s CROSSROADS, the first novel in his trilogy A Key to All Mythologies. The trilogy tells the story of a Midwestern family across three generations, mirroring the preoccupations and dilemmas of the United States from the Vietnam War to the 2020s. Jonathan Galassi, president of FSG, acquired exclusive North American rights and non-exclusive open market rights from Susan Golomb at Writers House. CROSSROADS is scheduled to be published in October 2021.

Nightfire Announces Richard Kadrey and Cassandra Khaw’s THE DEAD TAKE THE A TRAIN

Nightfire, the new horror imprint that joins Tor, Forge, Tor Teen & Starscape, and Tor.com Publishing as part of Tom Doherty Associates (TDA), is thrilled to announce the acquisition of New York Times bestselling author Richard Kadrey and Cassandra Khaw’s THE DEAD TAKE THE A TRAIN, about a freelance psychic operative tracking an ever-morphing supernatural serial killer in New York City. The book was acquired by Diana Gill at Nightfire with Senior Editor Kelly Lonesome editing, in a two-book deal, by Ginger Clark at Curtis Brown for Richard Kadrey and Michael Curry at Donald Maass Literary Agency for Cassandra Khaw.

This Black Woman Just Got a New Executive Role in Publishing—Here’s Why That Matters to the Industry

Before “diversity and inclusion” were buzzwords and hashtags, Monique Patterson had been actualizing them in the publishing industry for 20 years at St. Martin’s Press, one of the country’s largest publishing companies.