Press

Read more about updates, press releases, and industry news from Macmillan and our various publishers.

October 2021

Flatiron Books Announces New Nonfiction Imprint with Melinda French Gates

Today Will Schwalbe, EVP Editorial Development at Macmillan, announced a new nonfiction imprint at Flatiron Books, Moment of Lift Books, to be published in partnership with philanthropist, businesswoman, and global advocate for women and girls Melinda French Gates. The imprint will launch with three titles, to be published in 2023 and beyond.

 

September 2021

Tor Books to Publish Olivie Blake’s BookTok Sensation,  The Atlas Six

Tor Books is proud to announce the acquisition of Olivie Blake’s The Atlas Six, along with two more books in the planned trilogy, by Molly McGhee via Amelia Appel of Triada US Literary Agency.

Literary Buzz for Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney

Rooney’s highly anticipated, #1 New York Times bestseller received recognition for its promotional materials and marketing campaign.

August 2021

Wednesday Books Acquires Casey McQuiston’s First Young Adult Novel

In an exclusive announcement with Barnes & Noble, McQuiston shared the news of upcoming title I Kissed Shara Wheeler, out in May 2022 from Wednesday Books.

July 2021

Jean Hanff Korelitz’s The Plot wins Fallon Summer Reads Contest

Voters selected The Plot as the summer book club pick for The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. Jean Hanff Korelitz appeared on The Tonight Show for a feature on her book.

June 2021

Celadon Books to Publish GROWING UP BIDEN, A Memoir by Valerie Biden Owens, Sister of Joseph Biden, Jr.

Celadon Books, a division of Macmillan Publishers, announced today the acquisition of a memoir by Valerie Biden Owens, Joseph Biden’s sister, longtime political strategist, and one of the first female campaign managers in US history. The memoir will detail Owens’ life, from growing up as the only daughter in the Biden family to her trailblazing, decades-long professional relationship with her brother.

Tor Books Acquires Holly Black’s Debut Adult Novel

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black announced on Friday evening that Tor Books would publish her debut adult novel BOOK OF NIGHT, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of NINTH HOUSE and THE NIGHT CIRCUS.

Inside story of the Pfizer BioNTech vaccine to be published by St. Martin’s Press

It was announced today that the inside story of the first vaccine in the global fight against the Covid-19 pandemic will be told in THE VACCINE: INSIDE THE RACE TO CONQUER THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC. BioNTech founders and scientist couple Ugur Sahin and Özlem Türeci, who were the first to produce the vaccine, will tell their story to Joe Miller of the Financial Times.

Macmillan Publishers to Pilot a Hybrid & Remote-Friendly Model

Macmillan Publishers announced today that the US Trade and Shared Services division will be piloting a Hybrid & Remote-Friendly work model. Under this model, employees whose work can be done remotely have the option to choose the number of days per week they work in the office, or choose to work fully remotely. They also announced that their office at 120 Broadway will officially reopen on October 18, 2021.

May 2021

Andrew Weber to leave Macmillan at end of May

Macmillan announced today that Andrew Weber, Global Chief Operating Officer, will depart at the end of May to take a position with another company. Weber joined Macmillan in 2013.

April 2021

Flatiron Books Acquires Martin Baron’s “Collision of Power”

Bob Miller, President of Flatiron Books, has announced today that the Macmillan division has acquired, in a preempt, North American rights to Martin Baron’s COLLISION OF POWER: Trump, Bezos, and The Washington Post. Flatiron Books’ Vice President and Editorial Director, Zachary Wagman, will edit.

Tordotcom Publishing Announces Its Biggest Deal To Date, with Murderbot Author Martha Wells

Tordotcom Publishing Executive Editor Lee Harris announced the largest deal for the imprint to date, the acquisition of six books by Martha Wells via Jennifer Jackson of the Donald Maass Literary Agency in a Major Deal. Martha Wells is the author of the New York Times and USA Today-bestselling Murderbot Diaries series.

Devi Pillai to Become President and Publisher, Tom Doherty Associates

Today I am announcing the appointment of Devi Pillai to the position of President and Publisher of Tom Doherty Associates, effective immediately. Devi joined Macmillan in 2016 as Associate Publisher, Tor/Forge Books.

A Note from Don Weisberg: Fritz Foy

To everyone: It is with sincere regret that I announce the retirement of Fritz Foy as President and Publisher of Tom Doherty Associates. Fritz’s contributions throughout the last 25 years, not only to TDA but to Macmillan as a whole, are considerable — and his career path is unlike any I have ever encountered.

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group Announces Neon Squid

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group announced today the launch of Neon Squid, a new imprint dedicated to publishing gift nonfiction books that make complex topics – from medicine to archaeology – accessible and exciting for children. Neon Squid will be led by Joanne Clark, Fiona Macdonald, and Sam Priddy, who will serve as Co-Publishers.

March 2021

Oprah Winfrey Names the Gilead Novels as the Next Oprah’s Book Club Selections

In partnership with Apple, Oprah Winfrey today announced her latest selections for Oprah’s Book Club are the Gilead novels by Marilynne Robinson. The four award-winning books—GILEAD, HOME, LILA, and JACK—are set in the fictional town of Gilead, Iowa, and explore powerful themes of faith, family legacies, love, and human connections.