Press

Read more about updates, press releases, and industry news from Macmillan and our various publishers.

December 2021

Serena Williams to Publish First Picture Book With Macmillan

Internationally renowned tennis superstar and businesswoman Serena Williams and Invisible Universe, an entertainment technology company, has signed with Macmillan imprint, Feiwel and Friends, to publish The Adventures of Qai Qai, a picture book starring Qai Qai, the celebrated family doll of Williams, her husband, Alexis Ohanian, and their daughter, Olympia, stunningly illustrated by acclaimed illustrator Yesenia Moises. The Adventures of Qai Qai will be published on September 27, 2022.

Jenna Johnson Promoted to VP, Editor in Chief of Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Today, Mitzi Angel, Publisher and incoming President of Farrar, Straus and Giroux, announced that Jenna Johnson has been named VP, Editor in Chief of FSG, reporting to Angel, effective immediately. Eric Chinski has stepped into a new role as Senior Executive Editor, continuing to report to Angel. 

November 2021

Best-Selling Astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson Signs with Holt: New Book Starry Messenger Scheduled for Fall 2022

Neil deGrasse Tyson the famed astrophysicist and director of New York’s Hayden Planetarium and best-selling author has signed with Holt for his next book, “Starry Messenger: Cosmic Perspectives on Civilization,” it was announced today. Tim Duggan, VP, executive editor, acquired North American and audio rights from Betsy Lerner at Dunow, Carlson & Lerner. Publication is scheduled for fall 2022.

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group to Publish Promise Boys by Nick Brooks

Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, has acquired World English rights to Promise Boys, by award-winning filmmaker Nick Brooks, for seven figures in a highly competitive pre-empt. Promise Boys, a debut YA thriller in which three boys at an urban charter school investigate their principal’s murder during a high-stakes 24-hour day, is a page-turning, murder mystery thriller that shines a light on themes of social justice and educational inequities, shaping this novel to be both a commercial and literary blockbuster.

October 2021

Flatiron Books Acquires Matthew Perry Memoir

Bob Miller, President of Flatiron Books, and Megan Lynch, Publisher of Flatiron Books, have announced today that the Macmillan division has acquired, in a major overnight pre-empt, World Rights to the first book by actor Matthew Perry. The memoir, yet untitled, will be published in Fall 2022 with Lynch editing.

Mitzi Angel to Become President and Publisher, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, America’s preeminent literary publisher of prizewinning and bestselling books and authors, celebrates its 75th anniversary this year. It has had only two previous presidents, Roger Straus and Jonathan Galassi, who have been illustrious guardians of its legacy. Today, Jon Yaged, President of Macmillan Publishers, announced FSG’s third president, who will guide this important publishing institution into the future: Mitzi Angel, President and Publisher, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, effective January 1, 2022, reporting to Yaged.

Flatiron Books Announces New Nonfiction Imprint with Melinda French Gates

Today Will Schwalbe, EVP Editorial Development at Macmillan, announced a new nonfiction imprint at Flatiron Books, Moment of Lift Books, to be published in partnership with philanthropist, businesswoman, and global advocate for women and girls Melinda French Gates. The imprint will launch with three titles, to be published in 2023 and beyond.

 

September 2021

Tor Books to Publish Olivie Blake’s BookTok Sensation,  The Atlas Six

Tor Books is proud to announce the acquisition of Olivie Blake’s The Atlas Six, along with two more books in the planned trilogy, by Molly McGhee via Amelia Appel of Triada US Literary Agency.

Literary Buzz for Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney

Rooney’s highly anticipated, #1 New York Times bestseller received recognition for its promotional materials and marketing campaign.

August 2021

Wednesday Books Acquires Casey McQuiston’s First Young Adult Novel

In an exclusive announcement with Barnes & Noble, McQuiston shared the news of upcoming title I Kissed Shara Wheeler, out in May 2022 from Wednesday Books.

July 2021

Jean Hanff Korelitz’s The Plot wins Fallon Summer Reads Contest

Voters selected The Plot as the summer book club pick for The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. Jean Hanff Korelitz appeared on The Tonight Show for a feature on her book.

June 2021

Celadon Books to Publish GROWING UP BIDEN, A Memoir by Valerie Biden Owens, Sister of Joseph Biden, Jr.

Celadon Books, a division of Macmillan Publishers, announced today the acquisition of a memoir by Valerie Biden Owens, Joseph Biden’s sister, longtime political strategist, and one of the first female campaign managers in US history. The memoir will detail Owens’ life, from growing up as the only daughter in the Biden family to her trailblazing, decades-long professional relationship with her brother.

Tor Books Acquires Holly Black’s Debut Adult Novel

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black announced on Friday evening that Tor Books would publish her debut adult novel BOOK OF NIGHT, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of NINTH HOUSE and THE NIGHT CIRCUS.

Inside story of the Pfizer BioNTech vaccine to be published by St. Martin’s Press

It was announced today that the inside story of the first vaccine in the global fight against the Covid-19 pandemic will be told in THE VACCINE: INSIDE THE RACE TO CONQUER THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC. BioNTech founders and scientist couple Ugur Sahin and Özlem Türeci, who were the first to produce the vaccine, will tell their story to Joe Miller of the Financial Times.

Macmillan Publishers to Pilot a Hybrid & Remote-Friendly Model

Macmillan Publishers announced today that the US Trade and Shared Services division will be piloting a Hybrid & Remote-Friendly work model. Under this model, employees whose work can be done remotely have the option to choose the number of days per week they work in the office, or choose to work fully remotely. They also announced that their office at 120 Broadway will officially reopen on October 18, 2021.

May 2021

Andrew Weber to leave Macmillan at end of May

Macmillan announced today that Andrew Weber, Global Chief Operating Officer, will depart at the end of May to take a position with another company. Weber joined Macmillan in 2013.