Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Mr. Mee

Mr. Mee

A Novel

Andrew Crumey

Picador

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

In this inventive novel, octogenarian book collector Mr. Mee discovers the Internet with life-changing results. Told from the points of view of the guileless Mr. Mee, two eighteenth century French philosophers, and a middle-aged university professor, Andrew Crumey's book concerns the creation and mysterious disappearance of Rosier's Encyclopedia, an explosive text written more than two hundred years ago that purportedly disproves the existence of the universe. At times funny, often thought-provoking, and completely engaging, Mr. Mee is Crumey's most rewarding novel to date.

Reviews

Praise for Mr. Mee

“Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes, its unfolding and ingenious designs.” —Hilary Mantel, The New York Times Book Review

“[A] learned romp . . . enriching, enlightening, and highly entertaining.” —Barbara Fischer, The Boston Globe

“Like a tromp l'oeil painting, or a puzzle that invites us to draw at least two contradictory, yet equally plausible conclusions . . . Mr. Mee disturbs as it diverts, charms as it challenges.” —Merle Rubin, The Washington Times

“It's the rare novel that makes you want to begin anew as soon as you've finished the last page . . . [Mr. Mee is] one to savor.” —Andrew C. Ervin, The Washington Post Book World

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Andrew Crumey

Andrew Crumey is the author of three previous novels, Music, in a Foreign Language; Pfitz, a New York Times Notable Book; and D'Alembert's Principle. He lives in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Andrew Crumey

From the Publisher

Picador

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER