Book details

The Lantern Bearers

The Roman Britain Trilogy (Volume 3)

Author: Rosemary Sutcliff

The Lantern Bearers

The Lantern Bearers


About This Book

The barbarians are coming!

The Lantern Bearers is the 1959 winner of the Carnegie Medal in Literature.

Page Count
On Sale
Age Range

Book Details

Rosemary Sutcliff's The Lantern Bearers is the winner of the 1959 Carnegie Medal in Literature.

The last of the Roman army have set sail and left Britain forever, abandoning it to civil war and the threat of a Saxon invasion. Aquila, a young Legionnaire, deserted his regiment to stay behind with his family, but his home and all that he loves are destroyed. Years of hardship and fighting follow, and in the end, there is only one thing left in Aquila's life—his thirst for revenge . . .

Imprint Publisher

Square Fish



Reading Guide

In The News

“A spellbinding historical adventure . . . Smoothly written, fast-paced, remarkable in the atmosphere it evokes.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Creators

The Lantern Bearers

The Lantern Bearers