Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

A Whole New Ballgame

A Rip and Red Book

Rip and Red (Volume 1)

Author: Phil Bildner; illustrated by Tim Probert

A Whole New Ballgame

A Whole New Ballgame

$16.99

Hardcover

About This Book

A school, sports, and friendship story perfect for fans of Mike Lupica's Comeback Kids.
Page Count
256
On Sale
08/18/2015

Book Details

Rip and Red are best friends whose fifth-grade year is nothing like what they expected. They have a crazy new tattooed teacher named Mr. Acevedo, who doesn't believe in tests or homework and who likes off-the-wall projects, the more "off" the better. They also find themselves with a new basketball coach: Mr. Acevedo! Easy-going Rip is knocked completely out of his comfort zone. And for Red, who has autism and really needs things to be exactly a certain way, the changes are even more of a struggle. But together these two make a great duo who know how to help each other—and find ways to make a difference—in the classroom and on the court.

With its energetic and authentic story and artwork, this is a fresh, fun book about school, sports, and friendship.

This title has Common Core connections.

Imprint Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

ISBN

9780374301309

Reading Guide

In The News

“The book depicts the evolution of a group of fifth graders who learn a lot, grow a lot, and help one another . . . The charming and diverse characters [are] pure fun with a lot of heart.” —School Library Journal

“If the students are inspiring, so is [their teacher] Mr. Acevedo, who risks his job to do such radical things as reading aloud and encouraging free reading. (He's supposed to be preparing the kids to take tests!) Probert's cartoonish illustrations lend energy and personality to the likable cast of characters.” —Kirkus Reviews

“This warm slice-of-life novel from Bildner engages and entertains . . . Probert's energetic illustrations match the positive exuberance of the story.” —Publishers Weekly

Praise for Rookie of the Year:

“This fast, fun read featuring characters who love books as much as basketball will appeal to sports fans and nonathletes alike.” —School Library Journal

A diverse cast of characters highlights this good-natured, high-spirited slice of life.” —Kirkus Reviews

About the Creators

A Whole New Ballgame

A Whole New Ballgame

$16.99

Hardcover