Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza

Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza

Lou Lou and Pea

Jill Diamond; illustrated by Lesley Vamos

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

The second book in this young, illustrated middle-grade series is perfect for fans outgrowing Ivy & Bean!

BFFs Lou Lou Bombay and Peacock Pearl are busy preparing for the Bicentennial Bonanza, their city’s two-hundredth birthday bash! And this year, the party will take place in their beloved neighborhood of El Corazón. With a baking contest, talent show, and a new gazebo planned, the community can’t wait to celebrate the founders (and historical BFFs), Diego Soto and Giles Wonderwood. But when Vice-Mayor Andy Argyle claims the festivities belong to Verde Valley, using a mysterious diary as evidence, Lou Lou and Pea smell trouble. Will the friends be able to uncover the secrets of their city’s founding, and bring the Bonanza back to El Corazón?

Fun back matter includes a DIY garden party hat and a Spanish language glossary!

CHAPTER ONE

PSPP


It was 3:37 p.m. and Lou Lou Bombay was where she belonged—sitting in the sunshine in her backyard garden. She wriggled her toes in the grass and smiled at a honeysuckle bush nestled between...

Praise for Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza

"Fans of Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery (2016) will welcome this second adventure, but readers new to the series will not be at a disadvantage." —Booklist

"With its soft illustrations, diverse cast of characters, and engaging and accessible style, this is an ideal recommendation for readers wishing to take the leap from simplistic chapter books to richer novels."—School Library Journal

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Jill Diamond; illustrated by Lesley Vamos

Jill Diamond has loved children's literature for as long as she can remember, thanks to her school-librarian mother and long, cold winters in Maine. She presently lives in San Francisco, where, when she's not writing, she practices law and hangs out with her husband and their son. Jill is the author of the Lou Lou and Pea series, including Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery and Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza.

Lesley Vamos studied at the College of Fine Arts, University of New South Wales, where she earned a BA with distinction in digital media. She loves telling stories, cooking, traveling, and eating eggplant. She resides in Sydney, Australia. Lesley is the illustrator of the Lou Lou and Pea series, including Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery and Lou Lou and Pea and the Bicentennial Bonanza.

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER