Book details

Visitations

Author: Corey Egbert

Visitations

Visitations

$17.99

About This Book

Inspired by true events, this haunting yet hopeful young adult graphic novel weaves together family dynamics, mental illness, and religion—perfect for fans of Hey, Kiddo.
Page Count
336
On Sale
11/19/2024
Age Range
12-18

Book Details

Inspired by true events, this haunting yet hopeful young adult graphic novel weaves together family dynamics, mental illness, and religion—perfect for fans of Hey, Kiddo.

Corey’s mom has always made him feel safe. Especially after his parents’ divorce, and the dreaded visitations with his dad begin. But as Corey grows older, he can’t ignore his mother’s increasingly wild accusations. Her insistence that God has appointed Corey as his sister’s protector. Her declaration that Corey’s father is the devil.

Soon, she whisks Corey and his sister away from their home and into the boiling Nevada desert. There, they struggle to survive with little food and the police on the trail. Meanwhile, under the night sky, Corey is visited by a flickering ghost, a girl who urges him to fight for a different world—one outside of his mother’s spoon-fed tales, one Corey must find before it’s too late.

Drawing inspiration from his own upbringing in the Mormon church, Corey Egbert welcomes readers on an emotionally stirring, nuanced journey into the liminal spaces between imagination and memory, faith and truth.

Imprint Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

ISBN

9780374308391

In The News

A Junior Library Guild Selection

"Visitations is a skillfully drawn and heartfelt reminder that stories are every bit as complicated as the people who tell them." —Ethan M. Aldridge, New York Times-bestselling creator of Estranged

About the Creators

Visitations

Visitations

$17.99