Book details

Ode to My First Car

Author: Robin Gow

Ode to My First Car

Ode to My First Car

$20.99

About This Book

By the critically praised author of A Million Quiet Revolutions, this contemporary sapphic romance novel-in-verse follows a bisexual teen girl who falls in and out of love over...

Page Count
352
Genre
On Sale
06/20/2023
Age Range
14-18

Book Details

By the critically praised author of A Million Quiet Revolutions, this contemporary sapphic romance novel-in-verse follows a bisexual teen girl who falls in and out of love over the course of one fateful summer, perfect for fans of Juliet Takes a Breath and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me.

It’s a few months before senior year and Claire Kemp, a closeted bisexual, is finally starting to admit she might be falling in love with her best friend, Sophia, who she’s known since they were four.

Trying to pay off the fine from the crash that totals Lars, her beloved car, Claire takes a job at the local nursing home up the street from her house. There she meets Lena, an eighty-eight-year-old lesbian woman who tells her stories about what it was like growing up gay in the 1950s and ’60s.

As Claire spends more time with Lena and grows more confident of her identity, another girl, Pen, comes into the picture, and Claire is caught between two loves–one familiar and well-worn, the other new and untested.

2024 Bank Street Best Books of the Year List

Imprint Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

ISBN

9780374388430

In The News

2024 Bank Street Best Books of the Year List

"This gem of a book made my heart sing. Timeless, vulnerable, tender, and relatable." —Sara Farizan, author of If You Could Be Mine, Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel, Here to Stay, and Dead Flip

"
Gow (who is bisexual, queer, and trans), writes with authority, insight, and considerable poetic skill...The result is a highly readable, character driven exercise in literary fiction that is highly recommended." —Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

"A compelling tale that explores queerness, friendship, and love." —Kirkus

"[Gow] thoughtfully unpacks a variety of issues, including economic anxiety, guilt, and identity exploration via empathetic verse poems ..." —Publishers Weekly

About the Creators

Ode to My First Car

Ode to My First Car

$20.99